We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Islander Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emerald Isle
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Second year staying at the Islander Inn and we liked it very much. We stayed in a first floor, one bedroom suite with a small kitchen, full size refrigerator, microwave (no stove). Family-oriented, quiet, convenient, clean, well equipped and nicely furnished. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 312 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed a night at the Islander this weekend and enjoyed the stay. We were able to check in a few hours early due to the room being ready. The room was clean and was not anything special but was good for a night. We enjoyed the pool at the Inn and stayed at the pool most of the day. Would definitely stay there again if visiting Emerald Isle.

Tim

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaglez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I did agre with the other reviewers that you won't want to eat at the hotel. There are kitchenettes though, so having read the reviews we brought milk and cereal and fruit and yogurt and were fine. Two adults and two kids, the two double beds were clean and the bedspreads were awful but the sheets were clean and soft. There was a wall separating the "bedroom" from the "living room" - the living room had the queen pull-out sofa bed. My kids slept there. They complained that it was a thin mattress and there was a big bar down the middle - but they slept like rocks. You're at the beach - you don't go to bed until you're already half gone, so who cares? The bathroom was huge, but they should add a half-dozen hooks for hanging wet towels and garments!!! The pool area had great furniture and the pool is plenty big with a gorgeous view of the beach. The hotel has no chairs on the beach - bring your own. All in all, a great place to stay for a long weekend, not sure I'd stay more than three nights due to the comfort of the "guest" bed and the lack of places to hang wet stuff. There are a washer and dryer in the common area though, so I suppse I could just throw towels in there every few days. Great location right on the ocean - our room was not oceanfront. We had a very positive experience with service when the older blonde woman was on duty - she goes ABOVE AND BEYOND. She might be an owner. The younger kids who worked the desk were useless.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get oceanfront - the corner by the parking lot will be quieter than the corner roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMStJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our family took the dad to the beach for Father's Day weekend. It was fairly short notice, (made the reservation a couple weeks before). Wendy was very nice, very accomodating, fixed us up with a suite with a king, queen sleeper sofa and had no problem with our 2nd set of kids on an air mattress.
The suite was clean, in great repair, nicely decorated and accomodated us very well for the weekend. The beach access is literally steps away.
The biggest problem we had was the key cards kept failing. They told us to keep them away from cell phones and electronic devices and we did try to do that. Sometimes one would go get the cards "recharged' and they would work one time but not the next. That technical problem was a bit frustrating. We did go down for the buffet breakfast on Sunday and I guess we caught them between shifts or something. There was no food there and the temperature was about 80 degrees in the dining area. We went somewhere else, but ran into folks who had gone to the buffet earlier and they said it was very nice.
The location, the friendly helpful staff, the clean well equipped suites and the beach access are great. We would definitely recommend The Islander to friends and would go back.

Room Tip: They do have some ocean front suites that look rather larger and have a great view of the pool and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmopaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great location, nice room, terrible breakfast. Although the price was a bit high for the size of the room, overall we had a great stay. The rooms were just renovated in DecEmber, so they were in good shape. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly too. We would stay again.

Room Tip: No bar at thehotel, and only a handful of premium rooms faced the beach. It was, however, only a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pearleizumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night after arriving one day early for our stay on emerald isle at a beach house. The beds were very comfy. We had a standard room with 2 double beds, flat screen tv, small frige and microwave. Nothing fancy. Bedspreads looked old but overall room was clean. Pool was very nice with nice new pool furniture. Easy beach access. We stayed second floor furthest from the beach but liked this location as it was very quiet and only a few minutes walk to beach and pool. Overall this place served its purpose for quick overnight stay. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herdfans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Ours friends had told us about this place and we at glad they did. We had so much fun on an early spring getaway. Lived the pool area, the room and acourse the beach. The staff was great, we only saw them at check-in and checkout but they gave a few great recommations for dinner and breakfast. We at now fans of emerald isle and the islander.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lv2trvlnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emerald Isle
12.2 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
447 reviews
15.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Swansboro / near Camp Lejeune at Bear Creek Gate
19.9 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
230 reviews
18.2 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Hotel & Resort

Address: 102 Islander Dr, Emerald Isle, NC 28594-2428
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Emerald Isle
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emerald Isle
Price Range: $86 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Hotel & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the adventure begin at our Emerald Isle North Carolina Hotel and Resort! The Islander Hotel & Resort provides an array of activities under the sun. Our oceanfront resort is full of energy and experiences that will create a lifetime of memories for all ages. Whether you want to soak up the beach or lounge by the pool, the Islander Hotel and Resort provides an atmosphere of relaxation and fun for all who visit. Please note that we are currently undergoing renovations to our property, creating the possibility of noises and visual disruptions due to construction. Issues with television and phone services have also been reported as a result of the construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Islander Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Inn And Suites
Islander Hotel Emerald Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing