We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wing Night!!”
Review of Ballyhoo's Island Sports Grill - CLOSED

Ballyhoo's Island Sports Grill
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Acme, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wing Night!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had an absolute blast at Ballyhoo's! This is your typical sports bar, however, their Wing Night is amazing! While the service was acceptable (and drop dead gorgeous), it was a little slow. The wings were top notch! This is a great place to bring the family for some food, but also a good place to stop by after the kids are asleep (with a sitter) and have a few drinks!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a blast!”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This place was lots of fun and thankfully within crawling distance from our hotel

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank chelseadaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheap and weak”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Don't waste your time. Junky little sports bar with old fuzzy TVs and below average food. Only plus is the price matches the quality.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank EIZNEKCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WORST FOOD ON THE ISLAND!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

THIS IS THE WORST FOOD ON THE ISLAND!!! I have a vacation home within walking distance of Ballyhoos and SO want the food to be good...but it just ain't happening!! I have been there dozens of times with the most recent this past Saturday night. I ordered the chicken took one bite into a VERY cold piece of poultry..looked down and saw pink!! When I told the waitress she just giggled and said 'sorry, the grill ran out of gas'??? WTF?? I have NEVER gotten a quality meal here but love the atmosphere and I enjoy watching the ballgames there. Anyone who has previously stated the food is good is obviously an employee or has some type of personal connection to the place...because it is NOT quality food. The meats are cheap cuts, priced too high, the fried seafood is nasty (too greasy or cooked in old grease), the staff are young girls that wear clothes too small and are more interested in flirting with men than giving you quality service. Ballyhoos is a great sports bar but their food is horrible!! Their breakfast is much better than their dinner. Their grade this weekend was a 92 and may be even lower soon because I am contacting the health department. Serving under cooked poultry is irresponsible and unacceptable. If you like to drink and enjoy sports..go to the bar but please don't waste your money on their dinner menu. Over priced for the quality, cooked poorly ... honestly with the quality of meat they use Martha Stewart couldn't make it taste good. No seasoning, few choices... Sad thing is...this place could ROCK ... GREAT location, GREAT atmosphere...best bar on the island but that food kills it and their reputation.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Like Cheers where everybody knows your name.”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Cute litte bar & grill. When we went there was a live band. We sat in the bar area & watched the game. Service was excellent and food was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballyhoo's Island Sports Grill also viewed

Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
 
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
 
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing