We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little different Italian”
Review of Portofino Ristorante & Wine Bar - CLOSED

Portofino Ristorante & Wine Bar
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://www.ncbeaches.com/CrystalCoast/EmeraldIsle/Restaurants/ItalianRestaurants/PortofinoRistoranteWineBar/
Latrobe, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“A little different Italian”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants on Emerald Isle. It has more than your typical Italian food. The last time we were there I had a tuna steak with oysters and a Thai chili sauce. The oysters were some of the best I ever had.

Others in our group had Eggplant Brindisi (layered eggplant with spinach, cheese and roasted red peppers); seafood vodka; chicken & broccoli alfredo; and black & bleu steak. All were delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Experience in all Aspects”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Waitress showed up at table with dirty apron and serving tray, would understand if late and restaurant was busy, but was not true. Dinner special was over cooked and Chicken Cabonara was over done with sauce. Will never go back, visited 7/14.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had some kind of Seafood Alfredo dish and it was mediocre at best. Others in our group had pizza and they said it was very good but serious how bad can you mess up pizza. The calamari appetizer was very good. Overall I thought the food was just average.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alias626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Amazing Seafood and Service!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent a week in Emerald Isle at the begginning of June. This was our second year here and until Portofino we had very little in the way of excellent dining. The exterior is unassuming as it is in a strip shopping mall but the inside is very well done with two story dining room and an Italian villa theme. The real stand out here is the food! Amazing seafood! The waiter spent time with us and the kids to direct us to the best selection and then paired a wine perfectly. We had a blackened sword fish covered with crab meat that I can still taste- Amazing! This has been easily our best dining at the beach and we would recommend Portofino to anyone looking to get out of the hyped, long waits of the other standard restaurants on the island.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian20176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock NC
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Dinner night”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Portofino has a very good menu to select from and many wines to enjoy. Had a very nice dinner in a quiet and nicely decorated atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank donlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino Ristorante & Wine Bar also viewed

Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
 
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
 
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing