We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Fun!”
Review of ChowdaHeads Restaurant - CLOSED

ChowdaHeads Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh and Fun!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I (party of 8) ate here on a recent trip to Emerald Isle. We arrived around 5 and were the only ones in the restaurant. This is a small place--only about 10 2-person tables. However they happily pulled several tables together for us. Our waiter was great. He was very polite and answered all of our questions. Our party had the summer salad (two thumbs up!), popcorn shrimp basket, clam strip basket, and shrimp burgers. Several of us enjoyed the clam chowder as well. Everything is made fresh in the restaurant--no frozen shrimp here! This is the place to go for affordable and delicious food in a quirky atmosphere. This is the type of place I imagine Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives going to!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank B_A62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    8
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been here a few times over the years when at the beach. Always visit at lunch time. The place is always crowded but it never seems to take long before we get seated. The sandwiches have always been enjoyed. The keep your drinks filled as you wait for your food which is great after a morning on the beach I will comment that it is a little warm inside because the place is small and a kitchen cooking food in the center. But since we are at beach and not necessarily dressed for the indoors, we have been fine with it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank smungallNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rude”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were treated very rudely by the hostess when we asked for a table at lunch time. She said they had no tables and never answered when we asked how long it would be for a table. She had no time to be bothered apparently. So we chose to move on. No sense in tolerating rude behavior on a relaxing vacation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JB46202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent family owned gem”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great soups. They even let you try a soup before you buy a cup/bowl. You could tell shrimp was fresh. Had the salad and it was excellent. Service was great and friendly. Just wished they had a little more seating... but grab takeout if its full!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lilmnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent...”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Chowdaheads is a very small restaurant in Emerald Isle. The place has few tables. The Take Out and Go advertisement fits perfect. The parking is very limited. The cheeseburgers was one of the best I have ever eaten!! The Buffalo Chicken wrap was delicious, homemade ranch delicious. My husband got the Steak and Cheese and it was awesome. We were very pleased with this restaurant. Average pricing is around $9 for a sandwich or wrap with 0 sides. The waiter was very friendly. Food came out fast. We would go back in a heartbeat. Very pleased.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank family2010of4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChowdaHeads Restaurant also viewed

Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
 
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing