We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sunswept Vacation”

Review of Sunswept

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Luzoo
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok, needs updated”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Pictures are accurate representations of the cottage and there were great things - deck space, ocean views from 3 bedrooms, outside hot/cold shower, plenty of space below for beach chairs and such. Loved the 2 level AC that kept first floor warmer for grandparents and second floor much cooler for younger adults. However the furniture is arranged somewhat awkwardly to make for a tight squeeze into kitchen and in some bedrooms. With 10 adults, barely fit everyone into living room. Lots of wear and tear on kitchen cabinets and furniture. Tons of magazines that take up space and need to be thrown out. Saw plenty of cockroaches outside on decks at night and one in our bedroom on last night. If updated would be a nicer place; likely will try somewhere else on next visit to Emerald Isle.

Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Sunswept. This is a great house with wonderful outdoor spaces to maximize your enjoyment of our island's beautiful views. I am so happy to hear that Sunswept served your family well except for a few areas. We appreciate your suggestions and will share them with the owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christie...
Norwalk, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing vacation home, so much to offer, will stay again!”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had an amazing stay at Sunswept. It was a week of relaxation, fun, and memory making. The house is jam packed with everything you could ever need for a great vacation. The porches are awesome. We used the heck out of the outdoor tables and huge dinner table inside. There was baby stuff (pack and play, high chair, baby gates) in one of the closets (we didn't use, but still, that is awesome). There is something to enjoy on every level. The themed rooms are perfect, decor is super cute, and matresses were super comfy. It is incredibly roomy, we had an additional two bedrooms that weren't used and there were 7 of us. Kids bunk room was thoroughly enjoyed by kids!

The laundry machine was a huge bonus, we had so much laundry and went home with clean clothes. Downstairs there is even an additional fridge and tons of beach chairs, umbrella, raft, and other odds and ends.

Beaches are impeccable, water was perfect (in APRIL) for kids to get in and we had so much fun shelling. We left with TONS of shells. We saw dolphins playing in the waves every morning.

So many different attractions to visit, more shelling on other islands, deep sea fishing, an all around great place to visit. Sunswept it the place to stay!

We plan on coming back next year because we loved it so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: amazing views, tons of amenities
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nebraska (Go Huskers!)
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Carolina
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fredericksburg
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing