We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good monthly, pet friendly rental.”

Review of Turtle Reef

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mustloved...
Fredericksburg, Texas
1 review
“Would not rent this home again.”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This home was average. The pool was small, but nice. The house was close to the beach. By far, the biggest turn-off was that the owner stopped by multiple times during the week, always unannounced. This really ruined the relaxation ambiance of our vacation and since the whole point of a vacation is to 'get away', I was left feeling cheated.

Pros:
Emerald Isle Realty's online booking was easy to use.
Home was close to the beach.
Home was within walking distance to jogging/bike paths, grocery, shopping and entertainment.
Pool was well maintained.
Neighbors were quiet.
Check-out was easy.

Cons:
Owner showed up to check on the property, unannounced and multiple times. Creepy!
Dishes had to be washed before using.
House overall could have been a lot cleaner.
Master bedroom did not have a connected bathroom, instead used the one in the hall: Since this was the only bathroom on the main floor, everyone in the house used that bathroom all day.
Kitchen was poorly stocked. We cook a lot and so this was disappointing: (Couldn't find a whisk that wasn't falling apart, very few serving dishes, etc.) Ended up having to buy dishwasher detergent and rinse aid because dishwasher would not dry dishes without it. I mean, really? You couldn't provide that stuff? Some dishes were so large,they had to be hand washed so we had to buy dish soap too. There was nothing to clean with in the house, no soap, no cleaning spray, etc.
Check-in was confusing: We were told to return at a later time and when we did, home still wasn't ready.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the home was great.
Liked least: Owner's presence was a complete turn-off.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2015
Thank you for your review of your stay at Turtle Reef. The owner of this home does service the pool which is why he was there during your stay. The pool was cleaned mid-week and during that cleaning it was found that some maintenance was required so he returned the following day to take care of that. I am sorry that you were not informed that he would be coming to do this work. We do strive to maintain excellent communication with our guests, but often choose not to disturb you when entrance to the home isn't necessary.

Any time you are staying in an Emerald Isle Realty property, please let us know of needed items like the kitchen items you mentioned or if the property is cleaned to your satisfaction. Our housekeeping department will gladly send another crew to the home to clean it again. We are also happy to provide any needed items. As for the detergents and cleaning supplies, these items are provided by guests along with paper products.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will vacation in Emerald Isle again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2015
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. I am sorry to hear of the disappointments you encountered during your stay. July 4th is such a fun time in Emerald Isle, but a busy one. I am very sorry that your needs were not met in a more timely fashion. I have submitted your comments to our housekeeping department so steps can be taken to more quickly address and resolve needs like additional linens. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will revisit Emerald Isle for future vacations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alicew526
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Good monthly, pet friendly rental.”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Good 2nd row beach house. Beach access right across from house.Good ocean views from 2nd and 3rd level. And pet friendly! We rented this house for all the above reasons. Owners were very friendly and attentive to any problems we had during our stay. This house had only basic Dish network, maybe 10 channels. However owners were very kind in adding extended channels,(not premiums) for our monthly stay. Since I requested this addition, I felt like I needed to pay for it, so I did. Great location on beach- close to everything we wanted to do. I would definitely rent this place again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed November 22, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VA
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing