We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful views, nicely furnished.”

Review of Sunspot

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosemary...
Cuba, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, nicely furnished.”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

After years of vacationing on Hatteras Island we decided to venture to somwhere new and are so happy we chose Emerald Isle. The description of Sunspot was similar to past rentals and did not let us down. The views from the great room are spectacular and all bedrooms and baths are very comfortable. As we are now "senior college girls" , we opted for the elevator. Once we realized it worked differently than other cottage elevators all was great. We had a couple minor maintenance issues but those were addressed in a very timely manor. The Southern Hospitality everywhere in the island was appreciated . Restaurants we tried were Rucker Johns, Mike's for breakfast and a special shout out to Circa 81 in Morehead City.. We love to cook and found the kitchen well equipped. We have booked our trip for next fall. We travel from Missouri so lots of thought and prep goes into this drive experience. You can't have "our" week but make sure you make time for this home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views.
Liked least: Cable box, TV issues
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlantic Beach N.C., United States
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach access
Liked least: Steps
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Florence MA
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SC
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
msljsl
Buchanan, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“View was great, house was just okay”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We rented the house with friends. The size of the house was great, the views of the ocean and location were great, but some repairs are desperately needed. There is still mold in the downstairs bedroom closet that was commented on by a previous guest from a few months ago. We paid almost $300 extra for the elevator which was extremely slow and didn't work when we first arrived. It had to be "reset" a few times during our visit. After maintenance made a second trip out, they showed us how to reset it ourselves. The dishwasher didn't work. We called maintenance again. They were in no hurry to fix it. We first called on Sunday, it was finally fixed at the end of the day on Tuesday, and getting them to accomplish it in that amount of time was challenging. When they came in we asked if we could at least be provided with a dish drainer so we wouldn't have to use all of the towels we rented to put the hand-washed dishes on to dry. The garbage disposal stopped working on Thursday, but we were tired of trying to get things fixed, so we gave up on it. The house itself was fine, but when you chose a rental based upon its amenities you expect them to at least be functional or repaired with a sense of urgency and in a timely manner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and easy access to the ocean.
Liked least: Everything was not in working order and there was no sense of urgency to get it fixed during our stay.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYHopewell
Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing