We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Expeditio...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a fantastic time at this house. The views were beautiful and the layout of the house met our needs. It was great to have a pool since we had a two-year-old in our party. The pool was small but we definitely still enjoyed it. We had a few maintenance issues but the reality company responded quickly. We are renting this property again this year so I guess that is the best review we could give.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael B
2 reviews
“Nice Home - property management (EIR) is horrible!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

First off, I'd like to say that Neptunes Sound by the Sea was a very nice beach home. The property management, Emerald Isle Realty, left some things to be desired. Regrettably, EIR's management of the property seriously impacted our enjoyment of such a nice home. On arrival, the back porch light had rusted off its bracket attached to the roof and fallen onto the deck and shattered into multiple pieces of glass and rusted metal. Even after a cleanup person came out, we still found large pieces of rusty metal and glass on the deck as well as the deck and patio on the two levels below, respectively. Not a very encouraging start to a group with two children under the age of 2, and the entire week we got to stare at a wiring harness with a partially intact rusted fixture anchor hanging from the ceiling, they never fixed it. On arrival, one of the patio doors shock, the piece that keeps a door from slamming shut, literally broke off the door, another one of them didn't offer resistance at all so the door was constantly slamming all week. We paid $500 extra in rental fees to have the pool heated for the ENTIRE WEEK, we had to have maintenance come out multiple times due to the heater continually malfunctioning on the pool. The dyer downstairs wasn't working properly, took hours literally to dry a load of clothes. Also, the freezer didn't work when we arrived, neither did the ice maker. We didn't know this, since it felt cold, assumed it was working, so we ruined the food we had put in it when we arrived. Bottom line, it's clear EIR's management team IS NOT maintaining its owners properties, at least not Neptunes Sound by the Sea. They were very dismissive about our concerns at check-out and offered us "Coffee"?!? Coffee? Really? How about some kind of concession for our inconvenience? We rent homes 3-4 times a year and have done so for many years using various management companies. We had to call for maintenance more times staying in an EIR Vacation home for one week than we (cumulatively) have had to call for maintenance between rentals in Sunset Beach (by the way, Sunset Vactions is an A++ organization), Myrtle Beach, Cherry Grove Beach, Wilkesboro, Gatlinburg, or Asheville if you combined all those different rentals, over many years. The home we stayed in is nice, it's just sad that it's fallen into disrepair and EIR is so unsympathetic to its renters frustrations. USE A DIFFERENT RENTAL OFFICE IF YOU ARE STAYING IN EMERALD ISLE!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, the home itself was very nice
Liked least: Property Management - Emerald Isle Realty
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2016
Thank you for your review of your stay at Neptune’s Sound by the Sea. I am sorry to hear of the maintenance concerns you experienced during your vacation, and while I understand that these things regrettably marred your experience with our company, I do hope you and your family were able to enjoy your time together in Emerald Isle and make lasting memories from your vacation.

I did review our maintenance records to ensure that action has been, or is being, taken on each of the matters you reported during and after your stay. I assure you that most items were resolved on the day they were reported and those which were not are being handled by the owner who has been made aware of your concerns. I am sure you understand that vacation homes, like full-time residences, do require ongoing preventative maintenance as well as occasional reactive maintenance. While beyond our control, it is unfortunate that you experienced maintenance concerns during your stay, and I do again apologize for the detraction of your enjoyment of the property.

Thank you again for your feedback. I wish you well in your future travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom E
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful relaxing time”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have vacationed in this home two years ago and returned for 2 weeks in April. Wonderful time. Great weather. Love the house. The bed in the upstairs master is perhaps the most comfortable mattress we have ever slept on. They did raise the height of the bed which was a bit hard to get into but once you are up it is great! Emerald Isle is our favorite place to vacation. Now that we live in Vermont it is a bit of a drive but well worth it for the wonderful beaches and restaurants in the area. They added a pool which looks nice but it was to cold in April to try it out. The folks at Emerald Isle Realty are always so easy to work with and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything is wonderful
Liked least: That we had to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing