We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Restful stay”

Review of Dolphin Watch West

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wowzii
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are writing this review to warn others not to rent this unit. It is filthy. We have had two cockroaches in the master bedroom. Ants are in the kitchen. Overall the place is just not clean or updated. The carpets are dirty and worn. Evidently the owners of this unit simply are either unaware of its condition or simply do not care. The proximity to the beach is phenomenal. This unit is simply a cash cow for the owners. We have stayed in many Oceanfront units and can say this is the worst one. We got a "discount" and got it for $2,500 for the week. We overpaid for the value of the unit. The rental company has been very responsive. This unit did not even have an iron or ironing board in it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your vacation this year. It does, however, please me to know that we were quick to respond to any requests you made during your stay. Had we known you were not pleased with the cleanliness of the duplex, we gladly would have sent someone to clean more effectively, and we could have contacted the owner to get permission to clean the carpets. I did reach out to the guests who are staying this week at Dolphin Watch West to see if they are having concerns similar to yours. Thankfully, they are not.

Ants and palmetto bugs, often mistaken for roaches, are prevalent in our area due to our dense vegetation. For this reason, we do ask our guests to keep any food items closed, and if possible in air tight containers to prevent from attracting bugs. Still, I have forwarded your comments on to our homeowner division as well as to our housekeeping staff so Dolphin Watch West can be thoroughly checked by us and the owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dolphin Watch West. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed a restful vacation at this duplex and I hope you will revisit soon. Thank you also for your suggestions of replacements. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Bern
Reviewed June 8, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dolphin Watch West. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed the beautiful beaches in Emerald Isle, but I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment with this duplex.

I don't see that you called our office to report any issues during your stay. Please let us know of your disappointments as you experience them so we can work to remedy these things for you. Our housekeeping department does guarantee their work so should you arrive to a property and find that the cleanliness isn't to your standards, please let us know. We'll happily send another crew of housekeepers to the property to clean more efficiently.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and allow Emerald Isle Realty another opportunity to serve as your host. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed August 24, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AL
Reviewed July 13, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
Reviewed July 6, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dolphin Watch West. The smoke we experienced this Summer was an unpleasant thing and I'm thankful that the fire has been contained and our area alleviated of this.

The bunk room does have two sets of bunk beds situated within it so there isn't a lot of additional room for activities other than sleeping in this room.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and allow Emerald Isle Realty to host you. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WV
Reviewed September 23, 2009 for a stay in September 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2009
Thank you, for your review. I’m so sorry that you had some maintenance issues during your stay. Please remember to report all issues to our maintenance department at the time that you noticed them so that we have the opportunity to correct them for you and your family while you are here.
All of the upstairs locks have been replaced. Due to the salt air and sand blowing around most of our ocean front doors have an alternate locking mechanism. The dining room and living room sliding glass doors (like many of our homes) have a rod to secure the door which is more secure than a lock. There are now remotes for every room! We look forward to your next stay with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing