We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“peaceful and relaxing”

Review of Lazy Whale East

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
roberty35...
Saint Clairsville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very Sad and Poor”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

There is a lot of problems and maintenance done to this rental property. Looks like poison growing on the downstairs bedroom porch and inside hand rail to the outside steps to go up on the deck from ground level. Almost every door knob needs replaced as they all are corroded and stick. Your advertisement boast a Jacuzzi tub that doesn't work and apparently hasn't worked since 2010. The 3rd day in the stay my mom noticed some type of bug in the upstairs hallway and then are last night while repacking our clothes and personal items I discovered another bug in the upstairs master bedroom. There is siding falling off the house. Beds were not made upon arrival and had to call and wait for a couple hours before getting and finding all linens and bath towels. Their are some small holes in the drywall. Water stains on some ceilings. Decks are starting to splinter so you must were some type of footwear and watch where you step. Worse place that I have ever stayed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We want each of the many families who vacation with us each year to enjoy a relaxing and worry-free vacation, and I am sorry that some maintenance issues put a damper on your stay. I have reached out to our maintenance department to make them aware of your concerns so those can be investigated and remedied. Please don’t hesitate to contact us during your stay so we can address matters of maintenance so they don’t detract from your overall enjoyment of your chosen vacation home or your time in beautiful Emerald Isle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom67...
1 review
“peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

It was our second time - same location. Our teenage girl and boy plus 3 friends loved it! Both asked to go back to the same house. LOVE the view. Short walk to the ocean. Can't wait until next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. I agree, Lazy Whale is a wonderful place to gather as a family. I have sent your comments on to our housekeeping department so they can address the issue of the under-stocked kitchen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hanover
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zebulon NC
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PA
Reviewed September 13, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2012
I'm so happy you got to experience and enjoy the sound side of the island. It does provide for much recreation and the sunsets are amazing. I'll certainly pass your feedback about the mattress on to the owner. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing