We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good Value”

Review of Sugar Shack

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shawn B
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This vacation home is a solid value. It is not an upscale vacation home but it is clean, comfortable, with all necessary needs available. Full kitchen, plates, dishes, utensils, cups, blankets, cable TV, wifi. If you wanted to push it you could sleep 7 people. You can comfortably sleep 4. Car cover port is nice. Nice upper deck. Four minute walk to the beach. Good deal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quite and close to beach.
Liked least: i have no comment on this matter
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kourtney...
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great value.”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This cute house reminded me of my grandparent's beach house from my childhood. It was an easy walk to a nice a section of the beach. The bathroom was clean and looked like it had been recently remodeled. The bedspreads were very clean (and attractive) and the beds were VERY comfortable - we all slept very well. There was plenty of room for 4 of us - I was with my husband and our two children.

It was too hot in July for me to enjoy the sunroof but my husband drank his coffee up there in the mornings. I would have enjoyed some front porch furniture but the porch is probably too narrow.

I was a bit worried that this would not be a good fit for us - the pictures of the dark paneling freaked me out - and I was worried that we would regret making a budget conscious vacation choice - but I was very pleasantly suprised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the very comfortable beds.
Liked least: The kitchen dishes/glasses/coffee mugs. But, I am picky about kitchen stuff and I dislike plastic cups and old frying pans that smell like fish.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
va
Reviewed November 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Va
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Sugar Shack. I am sorry to hear of your disappointments with this home. Our housekeeping department does guarantee their work and will happily correct any cleanliness issue or disappointment so please call us if you ever arrive to one of our properties and are less than satisfied.

Thank you again for your feedback. Please call us if we can assist you in planning your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ont. Canada
Reviewed September 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VA
Reviewed May 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 9, 2013
It pleases me to know that you and your wife enjoy vacationing at Sugar Shack each year and we look forward to again hosting your vacation. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing