We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream home”

Review of Emerald Star

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sandyv732
1 review
“Dream home”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great vacation. The home is beautiful and well stocked.Beautiful ocean views with a great pool . Perfect home for a family to reconnect and have fun. Love that I can bring the family dog ! Emerald Isle real estate makes process very easy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian2017...
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beach House With Everything You Need”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have been traveling to EI for the past 5 years and this is the nicest place we have stayed in. We stayed for 7 days in August with my parents, brother and sister-in-law and 2 young kids. This house is amazing. It stands out from all of the other houses in this area of EI. We were amazed when we got into this place as the pictures on the internet do it NO JUSTICE. It is much larger than depicted in the listing. There are 3 common areas all with large flat screens- we did not even get a chance to use all of them. The decor is bright and beachy but not overstated. It is listed as a 4 bedroom but truly there are 5 when you include the "kids room" with its 2 sets of bunk beds. All of the 4 bedrooms are ocean front with their own full bath. The master is the whole top level of the house with amazing 360 degree windows and private deck. You might want to be in shape for this room as there are a lot of stairs. All of the bedrooms are large with plenty of room for luggage and any other gear you might have. The baths are clean and updated. There is access to the front decks from each room. This house is located about mid-island so it is convenient to each end and grocery stores/ restaurants. The beach itself is clean and quite being separated quit a distance from any public beaches or 2nd, 3rd row walk throughs. The pool is very nice and laid out so it is always in the sun. They have put in glass fencing on the ocean side of the pool so it seems an extension of the beach and not a fenced in aquarium. There is a 4 person hot tub right off the pool which is very new. Parking is great for 6 cars easy with 2 spots under the house for protection. The kitchen is ample in size with all the utensils and appliances you would need. There is a second full fridge on the second level adjacent to a family area for additional fridge space. We were grateful for the Main family area, dining and kitchen to be on the first floor when you have to make numerous trips in and out a day. The short walk to the beach with only minimal stairs makes it easy to get all of your gear to the beach for the day. We have already rented our stay for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout and size of the home with all bedrooms oceanfront.
Liked least: Upper deck is narrow at each end so it is less conducive to all occupants sitting at night.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JohnPapso...
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“The best thanksgiving ever.”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Weather was terrible, we had 9 adults, 2 four year old grandchildren plus molly our 13 year old dog, but because of Emerald Star we had the best thanksgiving ever. The house was fantastic, clean , well equipped, and perfect for a large group. We have rented houses from NJ to Fl. But Emerald Star was by far the best. We will be back. Thank you to the owner for a great bottle of wine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of house and how clean and neat.
Liked least: No tv in the hot tub. Ha ha ha
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barrington Ill
Reviewed April 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kettering Ohio
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed a pleasant stay at Emerald Star and I hope you will revisit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing