We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable, upscale B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Acorn Inn of Elon
Ranked #1 of 1 Elon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, upscale B & B”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Whirlpool bath provided for my suite, a very big bed, a porch to sit on, a good substantial breakfast. My room seemed pretty secure. The neighborhood seemed safe enough. The Acorn Inn was a great value for the surprisingly low price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldmoviefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    18
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
77
12
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
falmouth, ma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We recently stayed here, family of 4, for a visit to Elon University and the Acorn Inn was perfect. Not terribly fancy but very clean, friendly and comfortable. Eating breakfast on the front porch was a treat. The room was quiet and we all slept well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

What a nice little inn; has a bed and breakfast feel. The rooms were large and nicely appointed; with a two minute walk to Elon University. Even though student housing is right around the inn, the nights at the inn were fairly quiet even though student events were going on right around the inn. The breakfast looked nice although I never got to eat it.
A few negative or strange things about the inn: The lobby office area has limited availability. It was closed infrequently. I thought the inn had HBO, but it never worked in my room. The other sad thing is the jacuzzi tub in my room was broken. I thought the insulation between room was a little thin.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This the perfect place for anyone visiting Elon. It is clean, charming, comfortable, and affordable. It has the exact character to fit the University and the type of student the school recruits. The staff is kind and attentive, and the owner (Mike Brown) clearly cares about every inch of his property.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjjohns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stay here often. Large, Embassy Suites type rooms, better than average breakfast, very good staff. Near Grove Winery and walking distance to downtown Elon. Good place for business or leisure or romantic stay. Hard to get a room during big University events like graduation or football games.

Room Tip: Small property, so book early when school is in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Acorn Inn. Our suite was lovely and the bath tub was luxurious! Breakfast in the morn was very good and the front porch is beautiful. We really enjoyed the Inn.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KHencken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Our son recently transferred to Elon and this was our first visit since the move in. We have always stayed at the big chain hotels but none are convenient to the Elon Campus. The Acorn Inn is a fine addition to one of the most beautiful campuses in America. We stayed 3 nights and the experience could not have been better. The staff helped with dinner reservations, directions to shopping and were always available when we needed something. We especially enjoyed the family atmosphere at breakfast and the waffles are a must. Lots of good coffee and fruit as well. We booked a return trip for April!!! We HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cme4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elon
2.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Burlington
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington
Best Western Plus Burlington
#5 of 15 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Burlington (Elon)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Burlington
Courtyard Burlington
#4 of 15 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Burlington Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Acorn Inn of Elon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acorn Inn of Elon

Property: The Acorn Inn of Elon
Address: 301 W Haggard Ave, Elon, NC 27244-7664
Location: United States > North Carolina > Elon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Elon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Acorn Inn of Elon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury inn located beside the prestigious Elon University, The Acorn Inn offers suites with a side of southern charm, all at a reasonable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Acorn Inn of Elon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Acorn Inn Of Elon Hotel Elon College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing