We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food!”
Review of Simply Thai

Simply Thai
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Elon
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The menu has variety and the customer service was great! We enjoyed the sushi and sampler appetizer platter.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Thai and Sushi I've found in North Carolina”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Visited on a Saturday night with a group of 6, warmly greeted by staff and management, got a great table right away. Was honestly surprised at the beautiful, modern look and decor of the restaurant - you'd think you were in a major city and not Elon, NC. The menu features a lot of unique options, so much so that we had the chef select his favorite sushi roll for us since we couldn't decide. The moneybags (their version of crab rangooons) were delicious, very light. The pad woon sen was also nice and light, not too much sauce, great flavor. Our sushi ended up being the "baby shots", which was individual spoons of awesome sushi in a mustard sauce that you shoot like oysters. Never seen anything like it, and they were AWESOME. Prices are on the higher end, but you get what you pay for: a spectacular dinner. Great service, great food, great experience, go here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissyJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Too pricey for the portion size”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Only time to eat here is on M-F for lunch. The prices are much too high for the portion size you get. It is a shame b/c the food is really good. Lunch time specials is $6.95 for the same exact entrée you get a dinner or lunch on the weekends that you pay $14. And with the lunch special you even get a spring roll. We will not be going back. Dan Thai has lunch specials on weekends and is just as good and you at least get service with a smile. Simply Thai can't even do that. We left after paying $30 for two for lunch and both were still hungry.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HavePassporTKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
266 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very slow service”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We enjoyed the environment and the food. It took us so long to be seated--a harbinger of how the service during the meal would be. The people working there were very nice, but the meal took us much longer than it should have and we were late to an engagement, which never should have happened, as we had left plenty of time for a meal. Pineapple stir fry was delicious!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelWhenICan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tasty Food -- Good Lunch Deals!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I agree with other reviewers that from the menu the prices expensive. However, as we found out, the lunch menu is very reasonable. Each day they have 3-4 lunch specials for $6.95 and that includes a spring roll. I ordered the Pad Thai lunch special and my wife ordered the Thai Appetizer Sampler Plate from the regular menu. I asked for hot sauce and they brought a selection of 3 different ones. Service was good and fairly quickly we had our meals. The Pad Thai was a reasonable portion with peanuts on the side and pretty tasty. I would preferred a little more spice but the hot sauce fixed that! My wife's was a large plate of spring rolls, shrimp, money bags (dumplings), tofu and chicken satay. It was a large plate and it came with 3 sauces for diffing. Everything but the chicken was deep fried. It was all hot and fresh from the frier. We shared the two plates and had lots of food. Overall, a good experience. If you are concerned about the price, at lunch stick with the specials and it is very reasonable. The food is good, so I would give it a try for dinner also.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Thai also viewed

 

Been to Simply Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing