We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food in a Small Town ”
Review of Southern on Main

Southern on Main
Ranked #2 of 56 Restaurants in Elkin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Description: We are a family owned restaurant focused on Southern comfort cuisine. Our goal is to serve delicious food with a small town charm.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a family owned restaurant focused on Southern comfort cuisine. Our goal is to serve delicious food with a small town charm.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great meal here on a Saturday night. It’s a medium sized restaurant, a little bit dark with the lighting, but a good selection of food and options for drinks, with a full bar.

Our waitress was very friendly and helpful, my parents got the roasted beet salad which they said was good, and the Pasta and Cheese (made with Penne instead of Macaroni noodles). We got the Triple C IPA which was a pretty good local beer.

I had the ribeye which was very tender and good, which came with mashed potatoes and green beans (mashed potatoes were good, green beans were a bit mushy). Also, their salad portion sizes are big!

Overall we had a good dinner and would definitely recommend it!

Thank joshreimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 118 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2018

Our group of four couples on a wine weekend chose this place for dinner on our one free evening. Overall we were pleased. Entrees were considered good to very good. My fish special was quite tasty, but the trout on the menu did not benefit from the cornmeal and thyme crust. Service for our large group was very good and friendly. Beer and wine choices were extensive enough. The highlight of the night though was dessert. Each couple chose a different item (warmed brownie, creme brulee, apple cobbler, flourless chocolate torte) and we passed them around. Scrumptious!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mavmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marla S, Owner at Southern on Main, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We like to hear the feedback on the food, so it's good to hear about the trout. We get a lot of back and forth on that particular item. Some people love it and some do not. We will have to look into a different preparation to see if we like it better. Anyway, thank you for the review. We would love to have you all back again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

We were in the area visiting local vineyards and were looking forward to a great dinner. After reading reviews and asking for recommendations from a local vineyard, our expectations were high. We were asked to sit outside because the inside was booked with reservations even though there were open tables inside and no where on their website does it mention reservations.

We ordered fried green tomatoes that are served on grits with a black-eyed pea relish. Sounds great right? Wrong. The tomatoes tasted like they were straight out of a box pre-breaded and frozen. You would think the grits or relish would be flavorful but they were terrible. I don’t usually give negative feedback to a server about a meal but I had too. We were not charged for the tomatoes. Our server changed mid-meal which was an improvement. We had felt forgotten on the patio and our second server was much more attentive and receptive to our comments.

For dinner we ordered the fried chicken and the braised short ribs. They were very average but bland and very disappointing. Bottom line here is please don’t expect much if you do go here. It is below average food.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marla S, Owner at Southern on Main, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us this past Saturday. I do apologize that you had to sit outside and did not want to. Typically, reservations are not required. However, we do have a small dining space inside, and on the weekends we do tend to fill up. I'm sad to hear that the fried green tomatoes were not to your liking. I would like to assure you that the fried green tomatoes are not frozen. We do cut and bread them ourselves. I'm not quite sure why they would taste like they are frozen. Luckily, we are out of the batch that we did this weekend and have made new tomatoes. That may possibly fix the problem. Also, I have had fried green tomatoes that had a cornmeal breading on it. We do ours with flour, buttermilk, and panko. I'm not sure if you were expecting something else than what we serve. I do apologize for the service. We never want anyone to feel neglected. We will make sure that our servers are in sections that they can handle while providing excellent service. It's upsetting to hear that the food was not to your liking. I hope that you may try us out again in the future and find something that you do like. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

This was our second visit to this lovely little town enroute to florida . While looking for a place for dinner we found Southern on main the place from the out side was very unassuming when we opened the big beautiful old doors we were amazed at this beautiful gem . We sat at the bar and met Stephany our beautiful waitress she was very helpful with the history of this old building one of the oldest in town . The menu is Not big but they have a wonderful selection. When our dinners arrived they were not only displayed to perfection the food was incredible . My husband had the short ribs and I the pork medallions both were wonderful. We will be back to visit this historic place and the people that make this place such a hit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pat v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marla S, Owner at Southern on Main, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your meal. Thank you for visiting us twice! We look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

We were coming through town and needed a place to stop for lunch. Saw this place on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try. We were glad we did! Although we were a little late for lunch, the waitress was very quick to serve us. We ordered a variety of sandwiches and soups and they were all very good. The place is small and is an old converted store of some kind, so it has plenty of character. It was clean in the dining area as well as the restroom. Also, the prices were very reasonable.

This restaurant is located on the corner of what was probably the old down town. There is street parking outside and also a little lot across the street in case the street is full like it was for me.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hy_Chapparrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marla S, Owner at Southern on Main, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to you all stopping by again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing