We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“River fun”
other travelers have booked this property
Riverside view of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Riverside view of house
Gazebo and Grilling Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Riverside view of house
Gazebo and Grilling Area
Lower lounge deck
Kick back and watch the river or just the surrounding nature.
Dining/ Breafast  Deck #1
Lounging Area Deck # 2
Watch TV in confort
Cook in a fully furnished Kitchen
Jaccuzzi and walk-in rain shower
Master bedroom, queen
Bedroom 2, queen
Queen futon
Bedroom 3, queen
Relax with a glass of your favorite drink in the Hot Tub facing the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Elizabethtown, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joseph l
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“River fun”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay and we all had a blast. What a wonderful place, and a great place to stay. Dale and his wife are great host and this place is a fishermans paradise. We love the floating dock, the beautiful cottage and the nice shaded decks. The beds were comfortable and clean. I love this place and plan to come every year. Best vacation ever!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S
Corning, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING, Secluded Place to Stay!!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The owners went above and beyond in making us feel welcome. Very remote and peaceful. They had a canoe, paddle boat, small fishing boat for our use. There are stairs leading down to a dock for fishing. The exterior is gorgeous. Beautiful patio stones laid out leading to a large covered gazebo with an outdoor cooking area, another covered area with beautiful lighting and a hot tub, then another large covered area with tables and chairs overlooking the river. There are 3 levels of decks and a hammock on one of the decks. Other covered seating areas are on the top deck and lower back deck . The furnishings and bedding are very comfortable. Pictures do not do this place justice. We traveled and stayed at 3 different places in NC and this was my favorite. If you want quiet and seclusion, this is it. The road going to it may be a little startling as it looks like a small one lane sand road and the house sits a ways down the road, but we had no problem with our Honda Civic getting in and out. I highly recommend it!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2017
Pam was a great guest and we really enjoyed talking to them. Hope the rest of your trip went well. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thanks for the great review!!
Warm regards
Dale and Chio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipper201...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great river-front cottage!”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a comfortable retreat away from the busy world. Owner accommodated by letting us use his truck to access the property due to the rugged rough road. Once there, we were delighted! Plenty of space inside and plenty of deck space outside. Photos are reliable and current. Look forward to another visit sometime!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglass2...
Belmont, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Wish we had more time!”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The property was beautiful, the owners were great, and it was very relaxing! I want to Thank Dale and his family. The house was clean. It was just like being at home but in a different location. Hopefully we will make it back down.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house, all of the decks, and the hot tub
Liked least: Nothing I can complain about
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay M
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with a view like no other”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My *now* husband and I stayed here for a few nights and it was so relaxing. The sounds of the river and wildlife was nothing I've ever experienced before, it sounds like a rainforest! The cottage is gorgeous and has all very modern appliances. The master bathroom is to die for, I loved the jacuzzi tub. The owner was very pleasant and even gave us a bottle of wine as a wedding gift! I'm so happy I made this booking, I wish I could've stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How quiet it was.
Liked least: That it ended too soon.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
acolcl
Hopewell, VA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I could stand and watch the river go by all day”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a wonderful stay. We spent six nights listening to the sounds of nature. Waking each morning was a delight listening to the birds and the sounds of the river.

We drove into Wilmington most days for sight seeing and lunch. We rode the two car Elwell ferry nearby so our granddaughter could experience it before it goes away to be replaced one day by a bridge. We toured the NC Battleship, Greenfield Park where we did a paddle boat. We enjoyed the ocean and the country side.

The house was beautiful, and it made you want to spend extra time in the master bath. Our hosts were a delight to deal with and everything you could wish for. I enjoyed the window over the sink overlooking the river. We fished and enjoyed the decks and everything was perfect. I just wish that we had more time to enjoy. We even saw a turkey!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, restful sights and sound, overall beauty.
Liked least: We did not catch any fish!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!Spring is a wonderful time at the River. Our wild life is out and about, and nature is awakening to the new season!
Thanks for taking good care of our cabin and all its facilities.
Please come back and stay with us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing