We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This place is a dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

We spent one night here and what a dump this place was. It was late when we checked in, but I should have known something was up when walking up the concrete steps there was trash on the steps. Note even the next day when we were leaving I saw the "cleaning" crew and I use the term loosely, walked right by it and did not pick up the trash. The room was clearly outdated and was not clean. My wife and kids would not take a shower after looking at the bath tub. Whatever you do avoid this dump!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dkglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    17
    10
    22
See reviews for
34
13
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

I had read the reviews and forgot to take the list with me. Now I know why the reviews were not so great.
My friend booked the room and told the people that we would be arriving late. We got there
after midnight because we got lost. When my friend called the hotel the receptionist who answered
was very nice and patient and sort of told us how to get there. The GPS did not recognize a divide in the road where there was just a big red stop sign it was just too dark. She made a left turn and got lost again and came back around and turned right this time and finally got there . We were going to stay two nights but left the next day.

When we got into the room my friend was so tired from driving she just plopped on the bed. On her bed was a strand of hair. On the bed I was going to sleep on , one of the pillow cases had two small stains on it. I went and showed the pillow to the girl so she could see it for herself.
She was understanding but it was too late at night to do something. She offered us another room be we were too tired from the very long drive. The room was originally for $79.99 and she discounted it for $71.00 better than nothing I guess. I slept with the clothes I arrived in . No way Jose was I going to change into my pj's.
The room looked like it had not been vacuumed and there were crumbs by the night table on the floor.
To me it looked like someone had stayed there and they just just straightened up a little bit. Compared to the other hotels I stayed it the rest of the week the pillows looked like they were just fluffed up after someone just used them.
The breakfast the next day was fairly good and the young man(Justin) was really nice and courteous . So that was one good thing.
I would not recommend this hotel for families or couples or women traveling alone.
This hotel would be good for truck drivers, maybe college buddies, sports buddies(etc) more in staying overnight for rest or hanging out for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank islaoriental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

My wife and I were on our return trip to New Jersey. We had been driving for about 10 hours and needed a place to stay to recharge. Not being from the area we stopped at the first hotel we came to in Elizabeth City. It was about 1030pm when we checked in to our room. What a mistake!!! No towels, carpet was dirty, room was musty(wet carpet) looked as though it needed to be dusted, microwave was not clean. We complained to the front desk about the issues to the room. we managed to get towels about 20 minutes later. We wanted to change rooms but found out that there were no other rooms available with micro-fridge. Breakfast was the only good part of our visit thanks to a nice wait staff. My wife an I left shortly there after eating. I can not imagine any one staying more than a day here. Had we known better we would have not stayed. please dont waste your money. I plan to stay else where if we stay in Elizabeth city again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank newarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

but the general level of maintenance was unacceptable. The sink stopper did not work. The bathroom door squeaked loudly enough to wake my wife when I opened it during the night . The batteries of the TV remote were dead. Many years ago I worked in a good hotel. The manager there chose an unoccupied room to sleep in each night. If he found something wrong he raised hell. He would have been apoplectic over this one!
Breakfast was surprisingly good! The room location was quiet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlecW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

In the early 60's this was probably a good hotel- rooms to the outside, cement steps up to the second floor. Entry to lobby was clean and invited. Getting to the room was a different story. We parked in the back lot and walked through cigarette butts and dirt to the stairwell leading up to the room. The cement had huge stains all over and was downright creepy. The room had been renovated - good comfortable beds, but the room had not been vacuumed. There are papers and trash on the floor. There were no outlets at the desk for the computer so I had to run the cord to the outlet by the bathroom sink. Two lightbulbs were burned out - had to take them to get replaced. Good breakfast choices, but got cold scrambled eggs, one tablespoon of cold hashed browns, two bacon strips and 1 piece of cold white bread (no choice on type of bread). Waiter was very nice.
You could hear talking through the walls (floor) for people in adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaBAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

Great breakfast delivered to your table (4 choices). Microwave and refrigerator in room. Wireless and ethernet high speed internet connections available. Pleasantly surprised by this budget hotel! Comfortable pillows and bedding. Would definitely return on next business stay.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel several times because of their reasonable rates. I will never stay there again. We checked in and left to return at 11:00 PM. There was an unbelievable amount of noise in the room next door. It got worst as time went on. I finally fell asleep at 2:00 AM.
The next night it was the same story, but worst, There were many young adults outside of our room, cursing and screaming. The same people in the next room were throwing furniture and the same problems as the previous night. I was terrified. I could not leave my room because of the crowd and called the front desk. They called the police and a few hours later, I was able to sleep.
When I spoke to the front desk, they said they have no control over who stays at the hotel
Avoid this motel at all costs!

  • Liked — Their rates
  • Disliked — The noise and uncarring staff!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank sugarking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pond House Inn
Pond House Inn
#5 of 5 in Elizabeth City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Elizabeth City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Elizabeth City

Property: Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Address: 522 S Hughes Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Elizabeth City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® hotel is centrally located off the U.S. Highway 17 bypass, just seven miles from the Elizabeth City Coast Guard Air Station / Regional Airport. This Elizabeth City, NC hotel is minutes from the Museum of the Albemarle, the College of the Albemarle, Elizabeth City State University and Roanoke Bible College. United States Coast Guard Air Station Elizabeth City, the Pine Lakes Country Club, the Albemarle Plantation golf community and the Dixieland Motorsports Complex, home of the Albemarle Speedway, are minutes from the hotel. Several shops and a variety of restaurants are located in the surrounding area. The on-site restaurant, Courtney's, serves breakfast and dinner. Hotel features and amenities include: Free cooked-to-order breakfast, Free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms, Free USA Today, Free local calls, Free coffee. This Elizabeth City, NC hotel, one of the only full-service hotels in Elizabeth City, provides business travelers with conveniences like access to copy and fax services. There are meeting and banquet rooms available to accommodate most events and business functions. Guests will also enjoy the exercise room and the seasonal outdoor pool. All spacious guest rooms have coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Some rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms can be requested. Guest laundry facilities and a newsstand are located on the property for added convenience. This is a pet-friendly hotel; nightly charges apply. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, make the Quality Inn hotel your home away from home when visiting the Elizabeth City area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Elizabeth City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Elizabeth City Hotel Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing