We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not honor gift cards”

Muddy Waters Coffeehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Do not honor gift cards”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband purchased me a gift card 2 years back from Muddy's for use when our son comes home from college as a special treat. Quite honestly, I had misplaced the card, and when I located it, I checked the back of it to make sure it had no expiration for it's use. Then, I looked at the front of the card for the address, so my son and I could visit.
We got there, placed our order, and were then told that the card would not be accepted because it was purchased at a different location which is no longer open. The card has THIS locations address and phone number but you won't honor it? Is that even legal? THANKS!! My husband is out his $20....what a crock. You'd think they try to satisfy the customer. Their loss of a business location shouldn't be at our expense!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot in downtown Elizabeth City!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I stop here often for coffee and the staff is great! Very cool reutilization of property in Elizabeth City. It is always a good place to stop and see familiar faces. And the coffee is good too! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TenBladeTail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mmmmm real Coffee!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Cute coffee culture coffee house that smells wonderful as you walk in, very nice and extremely helpful staff. Very cool that they have a blend dedicated to the U.S. Coast Guard.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MuddyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed January 16, 2013


They have excellent coffee, drinks etc. and are highly recommended by all the locals who frequent this coffee house.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynnof54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cup of Joe”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a great little coffee shop. The coffee is great, baked items are great and the atmosphere is great. :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muddy Waters Coffeehouse also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Muddy Waters Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing