We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fresh seafood!”
Review of C & H Oyster Bar

C & H Oyster Bar
Ranked #10 of 104 Restaurants in Elizabeth City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Super fresh seafood!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stooped in here for a quick dinner during a trip to Elizabeth City. The place is not much to look at inside or outside but i didn't come for the decor. I love small local restaurants with great food and this place fit the bill perfectly!

I sat at the counter and enjoyed super friendly service and some of the freshest oysters I have ever eaten. I ordered a half dozen oysters on the half shell and a fried shrimp and oyster combo. The raw oysters were shucked right in front of me and were super fresh and served with lemon, cocktail sauce, and fresh grated horseradish. Apparently, a half dozen here is not 6, there were a couple extras on my plate. Great stuff! The fried shrimp and oysters were also very fresh and tasty. the service was great. All around an excellent meal and I plan to go back again tonight!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

the oysters are good and the service is even better. they shell the oysters right there in front of you. and you may think that this is a bar with beer taps and football-no. no bear taps, kid friendly, boothes, and very fun. you can also byow (bring your own wine). the people there treat you like family! but remember... they are only open is months that have an "r" in them (September-April)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curlyjoe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“NOT a secret!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Oh my.... what a great local experience we had at C&H Oyster bar on Fri night. Obviously the place is not a secret as there were hoards of people waiting for tables and according to the "Oyster Bar Boys", they weren't even that busy yet. Apparently, around 8pm the folks from Virginia arrive and then it really gets hoppin'!!! We lucked up on 2 seats at the Oyster Bar at 7pm so we didn't have to wait for the delicious oysters that were small and sweet and so good (shucked right in front of you by at least 2 guys). THe service was GREAT!!! I presume they share tips because there were at least 6 guys behind the bar and everyone of them greeted us, checked on us and made sure we were taken care of. It was worth the 8 hour drive to get there!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
158 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love the Shrimp!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nothing fancy, but it is the best place to get steamed shrimp! It was our first stop back to E.C. in 2 years so we had to meet our friends there to share shrimp, oysters, and fish. If you have never been, go, but don't expect fancy. Just wonderful food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coloradofcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Flounder & Frog legs”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you haven't tried their flounder and frog legs you are missing out on greatness! They are delicious so get yourself on over to C&H during their season and get some great grub!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C & H Oyster Bar also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to C & H Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing