We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Grouper's Waterfront Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 105 Restaurants in Elizabeth City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
North Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Enjoyed the special. Seafood was excellent. Service was fantastic and even recommended a local play.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    27
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Located right on the water and with outside seating, this place has great low key atmosphere, especially on a warm, sunny day. My husband, now 11 month old son and I have returned a few times. The meals are tasty and reasonable priced (at least for lunch--that's the only time we have gone). The service is prompt and pleasant. Give it a try!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We caught lunch at Grouper's on the waterfront on a nice sunny day. We kind of accidentally found it as it's not real obvious to a first time traveler. Although it seemed a little strange at the back of a retail complex the waterfront beckoned. When we entered for lunch around 1 PM the hostess and sole waitress warned us she was working alone and it would be a while until we'd be eating. Thankfully we were not in a hurry to get anywhere. The humor of it was that their service was better than many other restaurants with full staff. That waitress had eyes in the back of her head and kept our drinks filled and the service was actually pretty good. The salads were extremely fresh and crisp and the calamari nicely done. Both our meals were excellent, and I would readily eat there again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Worst $50 I ever spent! Service was slow and poor! Grouper was dry. Beer was flat. Need I say more!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacios, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just average food”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

You can see the river but the food is just okay. A little pricey but your paying for the
river view.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ubetcha8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grouper's Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Grouper's Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing