We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City(Elizabeth City)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$109
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelers Inn(Elizabeth City)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
90
8
0
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
8
0
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housecarriage houselavender roomfrench roomb bworked so hardthe salt water poolpoolside roombed and breakfastself serve breakfastlittle touchescoast guardsmall townnorth carolinain townnext morningyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 104 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed at The Culpepper Inn on our way home from our honeymoon at the Outer Banks. We actually called at 3pm to see if they had any availability for that night. We were welcomed by the owner, Kathryn, and shown to the elegant Euro room. Kathryn also gave us a recommendation for dinner -- Montero's. Wonderful, wonderful food and great prices! Breakfast at the Culpepper Inn was served in the bright and sunny solarium overlooking the garden, and included fruit, juice, coffee, sausage and a breakfast frittata. Delicious! Kathryn and Gary (the owners) were very gracious and hospitable and made us feel very much at home. We look forward to visiting again in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terriward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

My husband is stationed at the Coast Guard Airstation in Elizabeth City. I thought it would a great idea for him to get away from the station and stay somewhere, where it felt like home. The Culpepper Inn was the perfect match. We stayed in the French Room, located in the guest house. The room had a great view of the pool and it was very relaxing. We stayed at the Inn for four nights! My husband and I both looked forward towards the wonderful breakfast each morning. Each breakfast was delicious and each breakfast got better and better! I would suggest the Culpepper to anyone who will in that area and wants a nice, relaxing place to stay! It is not far from the Outer Banks either!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaeck0920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

The Inn is beautiful and the area is great. We were in the Carriage Room that's by the pool and separate from the main house. We loved it. The house is within close walking distance to the waterfront and all the cafes, bars, and restaurants that were lots of fun. We made new friends and had a ball! The Innkeepers were great.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GottaGetAwayRightNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Spent a wonderful four days relaxing and being pampered. Owner Kathryn serves amazing breakfasts and easily accommodated special dietary needs. Our Poolside room was cozy and spacious with a fridge,microwave and flawless wireless internet. We especially enjoyed an afternoon watching football in the Tavern Room, available to all guests. The house and rooms are beatuifully deorated and the grounds are nice, even in January, with a hawk hanging around. We'd planned more time at the Great Dismal Swamp and other bird-watching areas, but it was COLD, so we really enjoyed our perfect indoor relaxation space!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Staying at the Culpepper Inn was wonderful! The normal room rates are very comparable to the typical upscale hotel chains and I even saved money b/c of the fall special that was offered during the time of my stay. My colleague and I thoroughly enjoyed the Inn. The breakfast each morning was such a treat and the wine & cheese in the evening was a great way to end a tiring day. The tavern part of the Inn was the perfect place for us to finish up some business in a relaxing atmophere. If our travels take us back to Elizabeth City, we will definitely stay at the Culpepper Inn again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dealsearcher01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews