We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same with new owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabeth City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed last year about the same time and the previous owners were great. Came back this year and did not get the same level of service. At check out was not even asked about stay or if we would be coming back. ECSU Vikings beware.. we are not wanted at this location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank lanee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyKEcity, Owner at Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

As a historic Inn located in a residential neighborhood, we are not the best venue for certain celebrations. This University homecoming group left very late at night from the property and returned in the early morning hours from their celebrations. As some of our rooms require you to exit and enter through a home and be considerate of other guests staying here, this was very disruptive to other guests. Loud, late conversations in the parking lot, loud music from cars, smoking in non-smoking rooms, more than the allowable numbers of guests packed in rooms, etc. made accommodating this event's guests challenging at this location, this year. We are very proud ECSU's Chancellor routinely allows us to host ECSU's VIP's guests here and we are very proud Viking supporters, in general. We have had many delightful guests associated with the University. We made a commitment to the Chancellor to book guests for the 2012 Homecoming exclusively through his office and therefore could not offer accommodations again to these departing guests for this year. Thank you for allowing us to share our perspective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 100 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

Dear friends had a wedding in Elizabeth City we were attending. They wanted us to join them and stay at the Culpepper Inn B&B. My husband and I have had 3 experiences at other B&B's in other areas of the country and we had not been impressed, but we wanted to stay with our friends so we booked 3 rooms for our family. From the moment we walked through the door until the time we "had" to leave our stay was EXCELLENT. We had such an enjoyable time and felt catered to and yet not "hovered" over. We had a number of hours to just be at the Culpepper. The setting and accommodations are so relaxing. My husband had work to do and enjoyed getting it done (via wifi) on a picnic table near the pool. My 88 year old mother relaxed and knitted. We all took walks and enjoyed the close distance to downtown near the water. The breakfast was delicious. We have not had an occasion to go to Elizabeth City until this wedding, but we hope it will not be our last! We highly recommend the Culpepper Inn, it was a delightful experience!

Room Tip: Crown Room was well worth the extra money. The Lavender Room and the Euro were both enjoyed, very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katewalker, Manager at Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Your family enjoyed this home just as we hope people will when they stay with us. It was so encouraging to see. We enjoyed every member of the several generations of your family. Thanks so much for giving us the opportunity to host you. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Merry Christmas to you & yours...
-Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The historic house was beautiful and the room was lovely and clean. The prices are very reasonable. The owners of the property were friendly and accomodating yet gave us some space as we were there for a overdue weekend private getaway. We left our car at the culpepper inn and walked downtown and several occasions. Looking forward to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sbr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed in the Carriage House with our two children while on vacation. It is a very quiet and nice place to stay. Nice size pool and good breakfast. Great value! Will stay again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Room were lovely, serene, quiet. great linens and lots of nice touches in the en-suite bath. Breakfast on the sun porch was nice. Staff was helpful. The Inn and it's grounds are very clean and well kept. Prices were very reasonable. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Pool. Lavender Room was very nice. Quiet even though on street side. three other room on the 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hokie01Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

As educators to teach elementary history, we look to spend our time in historical towns--and the Culpepper Inn was top-notch. The Green Room was splendid for the week we stayed. It had everything we needed. Each morning we were presented with a different wonderful breakfast on the sun porch. Kathryn was so welcoming and gave us a recommendation for supper when we first arrived--Grouper's--and it was fantastic. The Culpepper Inn was used as our homebase for the week as we took day trips. The salt water pool was also relaxing to use. Would totally stay here again if ever in the area. They worked so hard on cleaning up the property to make it appealing to stay--as if it were your own place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cubbie413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Stayed with friends in the Carriage House and it was great. The owners were outstanding and the food was great. Can not wait to go back...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanee009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
1.5 mi away
Pond House Inn
Pond House Inn
#5 of 5 in Elizabeth City
64 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 609 W Main St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4256
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabeth City
Price Range: $85 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in beautiful, historic, downtown Elizabeth City, the Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast is just one hours' drive from Norfolk International Airport and is surrounded by lush lawns, shrubs, and trees. This brick Georgian Revival style manor Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast was built by William and Alice Culpepper in 1935 and sits only blocks away from the Pasquotank River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing