We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your time families with kids under 12!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabeth City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time families with kids under 12!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

A long time friend and patron of this place was able to get us a last minute reservation which was gr8! However the owners tell us the evening we arrive with a 10 and 2 year old in tow that they have really nice things and usually only prefer that kids over 12 stay there....if we had known beforehand we would hv saved ourselves and them the anguish. What a welcome! Oh and to top it off he informs us that they would only serve 2 of the 4 of us for breakfast! No thank you and Never again. Clean but smelly like most old houses are...lost a potential long term client...not a fan. Maybe this place caters to childless couples only but this should've been made clear at reservation!!

Sent from my iPhone

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ddbaker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grice-Fearing, Owner at Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
It is correct that we do not accept children under 12 to ensure that our guests have a peaceful, quiet stay at our B&B. This guest called prior to booking with us, to inquire whether we accepted children and pets. We told him that we did not accept either at our B&B. When he called to book a suite which accommodates 2 (either of our suites accommodates only 2 persons), we asked if someone would be traveling with him. He said that his wife would also be staying with him. Period. We said that if he were able to pick up the key prior to 11 am, we could accommodate his stay, as we were going to be spending the entire day out of town. Upon arriving home at approximately 8:30 pm, we heard a child's voice in the B&B suite area. It was a 2 year old girl who was staying with them! We again reminded him that we didn't accept young children, but we knew he would not be able to book a room anywhere in Elizabeth City that night, as it was ECSU homecoming weekend, when all hoteliers are fully booked months in advance (we had a sudden cancellation of his suite). Of course, we let them stay. To make this situation even worse, when they left the next morning, we saw that they had another child staying with them -- TWO children in all! Not only is this deceptive, but it is also illegal to have unregistered guests staying in B&Bs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
84
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rice VA
Level Contributor
218 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Elizabeth City and what a great stay we had at this beautiful bed and breakfast. Georgene and Vidal are gracious innkeepers who have left no stone unturned for the comfort and enjoyment of their guests. Vidal met us in the yard and helped with our bags. He and Georgene gave us some history on this historic house along with a notebook of interesting memorabilia. They offered us refreshments, offered to make dinner reservations and told us about the Ghost Walk which was taking place the evening of our stay.

Once in our suite, which was very pretty and spotless, we sat on the upstairs porch enjoying the ambiance of the place. We decided to head out for dinner and the Ghost Walk and had a great evening. The Ghost Walk was very interesting and a fun way to spend the evening.

Breakfast was excellent. We ate in a gorgeous dining room and the food was beautifully prepared - very elegant yet relaxed and easy. Our hosts shared good conversation and had obvious pride in being part of what is happening in Elizabeth City. We learned much about all the changes that have taken place over time. Lots of fun and would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a history buff, come visit Elizabeth City when the Ghost Walk is happening. This event i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2RiceVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Falcon's are warm and charming Inn Keepers. They have beautifully restored this house with integrity and care. We enjoyed our few days there and would go anytime we are back in Elizabeth City. You will not find a better breakfast anywhere in EC. Oh my, the food was soooo good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I have had the pleasure of enjoying the hospitality of the innkeeper owners Georgene and Vidal Falcon on several occasions, most recently in late August. This historic and beautiful Southern manor dates for the era of George Washington - the 1790's - and is a historic architectural gem, replete with antiques and beautiful oriental rugs. The warm and welcoming library, impeccable bedrooms and baths, tranquil carp pools and stately pecan trees will be gentle on your mind and beckon you to return to Grice-Fearing! The hosts are delightful company, widely traveled, and know much about things to do and see in the area. A memorable gormet breakfast is served daily.

You will be happy with your stay at the Grice-Fearing B & B!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay64237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I have found a gem in Elizabeth City. We agree with all of the prior reviews that have given this B&B an excellent rating. Georgene and Vidal were very helpful with local recommendations for dinner and directions. Their home has a wonderful history and has been lovelingly restored. The breakfast was delicious and elegant using fine china for each serving. Also, we loved the swing on the front porch while having a glass of wine. We definitly recommend staying at this place during your visit to Elizabeth City.

Room Tip: Either room is both unique and has it's own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jartman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

A fall get-away down the Intercoastal Waterway with our close friends, Peggy and Richard, turned into a fabulous two-night extravaganza in Elizabeth City! After checking reviews for B & B's in the area, we knew we had to stay at the lovely estate of Grice-Fearing. Vidal refused our request for a taxi and insisted on picking us up at Lambs Marina. It was a wonderful site to see this lovely home and graciously appointed suites awaiting us! Georgene and Vidal were genuinely interested in getting to know us and in providing whatever we needed for a five-star visit. The breakfast food was phenomenal - lemon ricotta pancakes, cinnamon crumb cake and a special treat of bananas and cream. The table setting was extraordinary, and we felt like royalty with the care we received! My husband and I had one suite, and our friends the other upstairs suite. We loved the comfort and immaculate condition of our suites. The upstairs porch with swing provided many hours of relaxation and quiet conversations. We looked forward to the evening snacks that seemed to miraculously appear. Our trip back through the locks required an extremely early departure, and Georgene insisted on packing us a special breakfast to take with us - chocolate chip cake, hard-boiled eggs, and sweet purple grapes - truly tasted like Ambrosia in the Dismal Swamp! The location provided us convenience for restaurants, walking on the waterfront, and touring the Museum. The Gone With the Wind Exhibit was a special unexpected treat for Peggy and I while the men enjoyed the other exhibits. We will come back for another visit. This was one of the cleanest, most accommodating, and loveliest B & B we have ever visited!

Lois and Bruce Thomas
Colonial Beach, VA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The innkeepers were warm, friendly and caring. The Inn was Lovely, Clean and Charming. Very historical. Once we read article on how the owners found the house and spent a little t of time and energy keeping its integrity, our appreciation increased a hundredfold! A great place to stay!
Thumbs up on this lovely home!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almNewHope_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth City
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 200 S Road St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast - the oldest house in Elizabeth City, NC. Offering two luxurious suites, each has a color-coordinated bedroom, adjoining sitting room, and an en suite bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bathtub. Breakfasts are served with china, Waterford crystal and sterling silver, a gourmet treat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grice-Fearing House Hotel Elizabeth City
Grice-Fearing House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing