We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent!”

Montero's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We stop at Elizabeth City on the way to the Outer Banks specifically to have a meal at Montero's. The service is outstanding and the food is excellent. This time I was sad to find out they weren't serving the flourless chocolate torte for dessert.

Thank MaryBeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy and Karin M, Owner at Montero's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Sorry we didn't have your favorite dessert MaryBeth, but are so happy to hear that you still enjoyed your stop in Elizabeth City and Montero's! We hope you had a memorable trip in the OBX and a quick & safe trip home :). Looking forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 341 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2018

All I can say is WOW!!!!! I emailed 24 hours prior for a reservation . Email was sent next day to confirm . I let them know it was for an adult birthday and they had the table set up with a balloon and card (nice touch). The food was to die for . Hands down best in town!!!!!!!!!

Thank bking406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin M, Owner at Montero's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit with us! We just love special occasions, so we're happy you gave us another excuse to celebrate :) We'll be sure to share your kind words with our amazing staff, and thank you for taking time to leave this kind review for us! We hope to see you again soon! Karin Montero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

One of the few, always consistent, always clean, always happy servers, and last but not least, great food!! If you are traveling through Elizabeth City, this would be the special evening out for a wonderful time with friends and enjoying some wonderful food and service... Where to start... well the wine menu has all the regulars and some locals as does the beer list, including Virginia and NC... The full bar has a bartender extraordinaire so your adult beverages are covered... They have the normal pop drinks but we have always preferred the fresh iced tea... As you know I wait to visit most places more than once to be able to judge consistency and more than a single meal... We’ve been here numerous times and I have to say, you need to as well... Appetizers; either the buffalo chicken or crab dips are a winner, the onion tanglers are for adults and kids, the fried provolone and bangin shrimp are also a great start... Dinner is literally all over the road, seafood to pork to steak and shrimp & grits, prime rib, pasta done to perfection... Our two favorites for desert, the key lime pie and tiramisu!! They haven’t missed the mark on any of these meals we’ve had... They carry sandwiches and wraps, salads, kids menu and have a brunch menu as well... They also have a plant based menu for those of you skipping the animal protein...

They are closed on Monday so watch the calendar... check their website for times... One of the few, always consistent, always clean, always happy servers, and last but not least, great food!! If you are traveling through Elizabeth City, this would be the special evening out for a wonderful time with friends and enjoying some wonderful food and service... Where to start... well the wine menu has all the regulars and some locals as does the beer list, including Virginia and NC... The full bar has a bartender extraordinaire so your adult beverages are covered... They have the normal pop drinks but we have always preferred the fresh iced tea... As you know I wait to visit most places more than once to be able to judge consistency and more than a single meal... We’ve been here numerous times and I have to say, you need to as well... Appetizers; either the buffalo chicken or crab dips are a winner, the onion tanglers are for adults and kids, the fried provolone and bangin shrimp are also a great start... Dinner is literally all over the road, seafood to pork to steak and shrimp & grits, prime rib, pasta done to perfection... Our two favorites for desert, the key lime pie and tiramisu!! They haven’t missed the mark on any of these meals we’ve had... They carry sandwiches and wraps, salads, kids menu and have a brunch menu as well... They also have a plant based menu for those of you skipping the animal protein...

They are closed on Monday so watch the calendar...

Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin M, Owner at Montero's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

WOW!! Terry you may have just made our year! We were so pleased to read your kind and very thorough review! You seemed to mention everything, and we are so appreciative of your attention to detail. We have the best employees (hands down) and they work so hard everyday to take care of our guests. We have already shared this amazing review with them, because we know it's thanks to them! Please come visit us again soon, and thank you for taking the time leaving this kind review. We will be forever grateful! :) Karin Montero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

This place is head and shoulders above any other shrimp and grits we have ever had, hands down. The place is really a nice place which would also be good for special occasions. I would drive special just to have them again. I don’t even want to order them anywhere else. They have spoiled me.

Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin M, Owner at Montero's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

:):):) We are so happy that you enjoyed our shrimp and grits!! We serve them everyday, so come visit again soon! Thank you for your kind words Julie! We look forward to your next visit! Karin Montero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

If you’re looking for a very nice restaurant with reasonable prices and delicious food Montero’s is the best place to go. Their menu has something for everyone.

Thank martaboyce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin M, Owner at Montero's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Thank you so much! Your kind words mean more than you know! We look forward to your next visit!
~Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montero's Restaurant also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Montero's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing