We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Delicious Food”

Montero's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Delicious Food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I had a night out recently and chose Montero's. The atmosphere was great and the servers were courteous, knowledgeable and very prompt. Good service is hard to find! The owner and his wife visited our table at least twice checking that everything was to our liking. The draft beer was reasonably priced and very cold! We had steak, baked potato and salad. The blue cheese dressing is homemade and to die for!! The baked potato was perfect and where do I start to describe the steak? It was perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection! My husband always uses steak sauce but did not as it was perfect and to add any sauce to it would have ruined it! I have often complained that EC did not have a good steak but I will no longer. The menu is varied and I'm sure it is all just as delicious. We will be returning!! Take my word for it, you will not be disappointed. My husband and I have made a pact to return at least monthly and I plan to celebrate my birthday there next month! Does that mean I get to go twice, once for our monthly pact and once for my birthday. Sounds like a good idea to ME!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer and Ke... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    50
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, FL
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food great value”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The food was very good and the serve was great! The price was reasonable for the quantity and quality of food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpaceCoastBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Whenever we are in Elizabeth City we eat at Monteros. It is such a good place to eat. We always
have a wonderful meal there. Our last visit we started off with Vegetable Napoleon, as a appetiser. It was amazing. A layered lasagna like vegetable dish with provolone and marinara.Every bite was delectable. In my opinion this could be a main course. Hard to believe it is heart healthy.
My husband ordered the Spinach and Wild Mushroom Penne. It was delicious with so much flavor. This was also a heart friendly dish without any sacrifice of taste so wonderful.
I ordered the sauted scallops . They were lightly browned and cooked to perfection and seasoned just right. You could choose two sides with every dish except pasta and only one with that. There is quite a lot to choose from. We had the green beans, baked sweet potatoes and kale with swiss chard. All were good and freshly prepared.
All orders are served with a basket of mini muffins and rye and white rolls. These are very tasty especially the muffins which we saved for dessert.
Our waitress was Kristin who never let our water run out and was very attentive. Would ask for her again. In fact all the staff is very personable and welcoming.
We love how the allow half portions and also show heart healthy meals. wish more restaurants would do this.
If you are traveling near Elizabeth City it is a must to eat at Montero's, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful ,food,experience and staff”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Montero's is the only 5 star restaurant in Elizabeth City.The food was excellent,service superb,and atmosphere was perfect.The Chef/Co-owner Andy came out to check on us personally to make sure everything was prepared as we liked it.Please avail yourself of this outstanding culinary experience anytime you are close to Elizabeth city.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our 4th or 5th visit to Montero's and, as always, they exceeded expectations! Having grown up in Elizabeth City many years ago, we had no idea that we would find such a charming venue with amazing food! One of my favorite things is that most menu items are available as either full or half portions so you can enjoy a reasonably sized dinner - and, oh, maybe still have room for dessert? Personal favorite is shrimp and grits with andouille sausage. Best I have ever had and yes, I have tried this dish many places. Server Tu was attentive, charming and SO energetic! This is a wonderful family business (you may be greeted and seated by any of the three Montero daughters) and they utilize local ingredients where possible. ENJOY!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz23661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montero's Restaurant also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Montero's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing