We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner, but...”

Montero's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner, but...”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Due to travel conditions (snow) we found ourselves in Elizabeth City for the night. We researched recommended restaurants for dinner, decided on Montero's, and made reservations. Upon arrival the greeting hostess found our name on the list, then proceeded to talk on the phone to a customer who couldn't make up his/her mind as to the time of their arrival. We waited. Then friends of her's arrived and she proceeded to guide them to their table. We waited. When she returned to the hostess station again we assumed we would be next. However, another couple arrived, also friends of her's, and she left to escort them to their table. We waited, now getting somewhat irritated! Another hostess appeared, realized our frustration, and immediately took us to our table. It was not easy to get over our unfavorable first impressions. However our waitress, Megan, was very pleasant, and following a wonderful crab appetizer, we began to focus on the food. Our main courses were wonderful. My husband ordered the brown sugar encrusted pork chops and I ordered the potato encrusted salmon - both were excellent. I normally do not write negative comments, but first impressions are always important, and tonight's first impression of Montero's was not what we expected from a restaurant that is rated #1 in Elizabeth City.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy and Karin M, Owner at Montero's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest and prompt post in regards to your most recent visit with us! I wanted to personally reach out to you and apologize for this situation and how it made you both feel. We are a business of hospitality and how we make our guests feel (their overall experience) is a huge part of our industry and fortunately for us, a huge part of our success. It is because guests like you are willing to share their experiences with us that we can use them as training tools for our staff and continue to improve!
We have already address your particular experience, how we could have handled it differently and why it is important for us to keep it from happening again!
I hope and trust that you all made it back to your home town safely and ask that the next time you are stopping in Elizabeth City, you give Montero's another chance to prove that we deserve the #1 rating that we are so humbled to have! Many thanks again!
Sincerely
Andy Montero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    48
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top shelf food and service!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've eaten at Montero's several dozen times and have always been impressed with the quality of the food and the excellent wait staff. Andy Montero is an awesome chef and he never fails to make his rounds to say hello to all his patrons. He goes out of his way to help the military, hosting and catering many events each year. The food is first-rate (especially the steaks) with prices on par with other upscale establishments. Try the filet mignon- it's out of this world.
No visit to Elizabeth City is complete without a trip to Montero's!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DDH1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can be good, but....”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Food is generally good, but I have gotten under cooked pork twice. Seem to rush when busy. May still have some of the best food in E.C.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SKJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'm a regular!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I eat at Montero's a couple of times each week. The staff are friendly and attentive. The food is excellent. The owner's are engaged.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HockeyMomRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, amazing service”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went here for the first time for a special birthday dinner. They were able to seat us quickly (we didn't have reservations & it was a Saturday night) & gave us a cozy table by a fireplace. Our server was Tu & she is absolutely wonderful & so attentive to her customers needs. Our food was absolutely delicious (potato crusted salmon for me) & i LOVE that you can opt for a half portion!!!! I was amazed at the quality of food for a very reasonable price. We will definitely be celebrating many more times at Montero's!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montero's Restaurant also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Montero's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing