We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly elegant yet still laid back and relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabeth City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foreman House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazingly elegant yet still laid back and relaxing”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I decided to surprise my wife with a weekend getaway for our anniversary. I was a little worried since we have never done a b&b before plus my wife isn't keen on surprises. I was taking a chance. Definatly a chance worth taking thanks to Mel and Andy. They went above and beyond to make the weekend the most memorable yet. They made us feel right at home from the time we stepped in the door to the time we left. And the house was beautiful, comfortable and elegant. Definatly would recommend the Foreman house to anyone but especially a husband trying to have a memorable getaway with your sweety. Thanks again Mel and Andy. Joe

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcd1277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
69
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

What an enjoyable stay at the Foreman House. Andy and Mel were gracious and hospitable innkeepers. As soon as you walked in, you felt just like you were home. Andy and Mel quickly became old friends. They loved showing us around their home and giving a little history of the house. Andy is an excellent artist, who has many of his beautiful painting hanging in the house. We enjoyed visiting with the other guest during the Social Hour. No one was in a hurry to leave to go to dinner, we were having so much fun! Our room was comfortable, spacious and very clean. Mel even irons the sheets!! Loved the sunroom off the our bedroom. Every room was tastefully decorated with beautiful antiques. The breakfast was delicious and filling. I especially enjoyed the fig preserves that Mel made.
We had such a wonderful time at the Foreman House that I wish we could have stayed longer. This is a B&B that you will definitely want to visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I found the Foreman House Bed & Breakfast to be a beautiful and very comfortable place to stay. The owners were very pleasant and we had many entertaining conversations with them. They were also very knowledgeable about the town and the surrounding areas. They pointed us to many local events and eating establishments that made the whole experience very memorable. I highly recommend the Foreman House and would stay again without a second thought.

Gary & Claudia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 201garyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Last week, my husband and I had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Foreman House during a stopover in Elizabeth City. What a delightful time we had! Andy and Mel were so hospitable, the house beautiful, yet comfortable, and the food was fabulous. We enjoyed the opportunity to chat with Andy and Mel over a glass of wine in the evening and then continue the conversation with Andy the next morning. They made us feel so welcome in their home. If our wandering takes us back in the vicinity, we will look forward to staying at Foreman House again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton,NJ
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived at 7pm without reservation and got (very) lucky as there was a vacancy.
An impromptu wine and cheese soiree was in progress, to which we were invited. Andy & Mel had also invited a collection of very entertaining guests and fellow customers. The evening wore on and we were subsequently invited to an impromptu dinner. We tried to refuse but felt compelled - we really didn't want to refuse as we were having so much fun. The evening will go down as one of the most entertaining we have experienced anywhere.
Apart from the "entertainment", the house and rooms are very tastefully decorated and clean. We had a great night's sleep and an even better breakfast in the morning.
In the future, we will go out of our way to stay here if at all possible.
Andy and Mel really understand the term hospitality. It comes naturally to them, so it follows that they are wonderful hosts of a B&B. On top of that, this is their third B&B and they know what they are doing.

Room Tip: We looked in all the rooms and selected one with a bath tub, but all rooms looked equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Foreman House is a destination in and of itself! We had a wonderful stay and were treated like royalty by the warm and gracious innkeepers! Breakfast was equally delightful consisting of local sausage, eggs, hash browns, fruit, and the list goes on... Be sure to check out inkeeper Andy Mason's artwork - gorgeous! I will definitely be back on my next visit to Elizabeth City!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHewgl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you are looking for the perfect get-a-way, then you will find it in Elizabeth City's Foreman House. The newly restored and renovated 1890's house is perfect down to the last detail. It is elegant, yet comfortable. This bed and breakfast it is fresh and clean in every way. You will be greeted by two wonderful hosts, Andy Mason and Mel Powell, that will see to your every need. Wine and cheese is served every afternoon in the beautiful parlor. In the morning, a delicious country breakfast is served and you won't need to eat for the rest of the day. This Bed and Breakfast has it all...great hosts, comfortable accommodations, and fabulous food. Wonderful in every way.
Jan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanCarrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth City
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
478 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
85 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
1.8 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foreman House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foreman House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Foreman House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 311 W Church St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4719
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foreman House B&B circa 1899. Casual elegance, breakfast daily, afternoon refreshments. 4 rooms with private baths and queen beds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing