We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabeth City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foreman House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I found the Foreman House Bed & Breakfast to be a beautiful and very comfortable place to stay. The owners were very pleasant and we had many entertaining conversations with them. They were also very knowledgeable about the town and the surrounding areas. They pointed us to many local events and eating establishments that made the whole experience very memorable. I highly recommend the Foreman House and would stay again without a second thought.

Gary & Claudia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 201garyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
70
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Last week, my husband and I had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Foreman House during a stopover in Elizabeth City. What a delightful time we had! Andy and Mel were so hospitable, the house beautiful, yet comfortable, and the food was fabulous. We enjoyed the opportunity to chat with Andy and Mel over a glass of wine in the evening and then continue the conversation with Andy the next morning. They made us feel so welcome in their home. If our wandering takes us back in the vicinity, we will look forward to staying at Foreman House again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton,NJ
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived at 7pm without reservation and got (very) lucky as there was a vacancy.
An impromptu wine and cheese soiree was in progress, to which we were invited. Andy & Mel had also invited a collection of very entertaining guests and fellow customers. The evening wore on and we were subsequently invited to an impromptu dinner. We tried to refuse but felt compelled - we really didn't want to refuse as we were having so much fun. The evening will go down as one of the most entertaining we have experienced anywhere.
Apart from the "entertainment", the house and rooms are very tastefully decorated and clean. We had a great night's sleep and an even better breakfast in the morning.
In the future, we will go out of our way to stay here if at all possible.
Andy and Mel really understand the term hospitality. It comes naturally to them, so it follows that they are wonderful hosts of a B&B. On top of that, this is their third B&B and they know what they are doing.

Room Tip: We looked in all the rooms and selected one with a bath tub, but all rooms looked equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Foreman House is a destination in and of itself! We had a wonderful stay and were treated like royalty by the warm and gracious innkeepers! Breakfast was equally delightful consisting of local sausage, eggs, hash browns, fruit, and the list goes on... Be sure to check out inkeeper Andy Mason's artwork - gorgeous! I will definitely be back on my next visit to Elizabeth City!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHewgl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you are looking for the perfect get-a-way, then you will find it in Elizabeth City's Foreman House. The newly restored and renovated 1890's house is perfect down to the last detail. It is elegant, yet comfortable. This bed and breakfast it is fresh and clean in every way. You will be greeted by two wonderful hosts, Andy Mason and Mel Powell, that will see to your every need. Wine and cheese is served every afternoon in the beautiful parlor. In the morning, a delicious country breakfast is served and you won't need to eat for the rest of the day. This Bed and Breakfast has it all...great hosts, comfortable accommodations, and fabulous food. Wonderful in every way.
Jan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanCarrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The Foreman House is a great getaway! Hospitality was wonderful; Andy and Mel made us feel right at home. The rooms are very clean and cozy. Breakfast was amazing! The house has beautiful artwork. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have had to travel to Elizabeth City on business several times. The Foreman House was absolutely fabulous! I felt it was a home away from home. Andy and Mel treated me like family and the breakfast was amazing. I looked forward to getting back in the evenings knowing I would have such comfortable accommodations to get a peaceful night sleep. The rooms were elegantly decorated and the bed was so comfortable. Andy’s original art throughout the house added such a personal touch. I could have spent hours walking around looking at the paintings. Business trip or not, if I travel near Elizabeth City, I plan to return for a stay at the Foreman House and enjoy the hospitality the hosts have to offer!!

Amy W.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth City
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
86 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
1.8 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foreman House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foreman House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Foreman House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 311 W Church St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4719
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foreman House B&B circa 1899. Casual elegance, breakfast daily, afternoon refreshments. 4 rooms with private baths and queen beds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing