We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Service and Location.”

Sidney's Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 105 Restaurants in Elizabeth City
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sidney's Cafe & Bistro is located along the beautiful shore of Elizabeth City harbor, just 2 blocks north on E. Main St. We serve fresh homemade fare that is both, health conscious and delicious. Our hearty breakfasts and lunches are made with only the finest and freshest ingredients with daily homemade soups being a local favorite. Sidney's Cafe & Bistro creates uniquely satisfying salads, sandwiches and daily specials to satisfy a variety of palates. And of course, we can't forget to mention our famous Cheesy Bacon Meatloaf Sandwiches and our fresh baked Tuna Salad Melts. Come join us for breakfast, lunch, light snack or for dinner on Thursday, Friday or Saturday! You can even enjoy our fresh brewed coffee, cappucinos or a glass of wine, as you breathe in our small town friendly atmosphere!
New Hope, PA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service and Location.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Our very first trip to Elizabeth City included a recommendation for dinner at Sydney's Cafe and Bistro! We were so happy that it was so delicious! Starting with the crab fritters which were outrageously delicious, we moved to the chicken flat bread and the ham and cheese panini! While pretty standard fair, the dinner was unique and memorable! Stop and try it as you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almNewHope_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Sidney's Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hope you enjoyed your stay in Elizabeth City. Thank you for your feedback and continued safe travels. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    29
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This café was suggested by our B&B hosts as a nice lunch spot. They were right on target. A very interesting and eclectic menu. Their food is a nice change from the typical sandwich and burger place. Excellent service and the manager came by to check on us also. We would definitely go back next time we are in Elizabeth City.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Sidney's Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback. Appreciate you time and your business! Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, NorthCarolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Omelets”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just got back from breakfast at Sidney's. It's always a treat to eat there. Food is excellent and staff is very friendly. Can vouch for both breakfast and dinner. Walking distance from water and all downtown amenities.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susanbmsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Sidney's Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Susan,

Thanks so much for your feedback and look forward to seeing you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“If we had a place like this in my downtown area, I'd eat there all the time.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

If you've not been to Elizabeth City, it's got a good example of a well-rejuvenated downtown. Sydney's is a part of that.

This has a quaint little cafe feel to it with a good menu, reasonable prices, nice presentation and fast service.

They have daily specials that add to their interesting blend of menu items that range from chilled cucumber soup to cheeseburger bacon meatloaf paninis.

Unfortunately, I don't live near here. If I did, I'd go more often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Sidney's Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for visiting and appreciate your input. Would love to serve you again when you visit Elizabeth City, NC. Regards, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a deceptively modest bistro with consistently excellent food. I just had the flatbread pizza that others have raved about. During the last year, my husband, friends, and I have enjoyed many a delightful meal here. There are lots of standouts, from burgers and fries (homemade and fabulous), salads (Asian chicken, yum), soups, and appetizers. The homemade cakes are definite diet busters. The breakfasts feature all sorts of treats, including grits to make a Southerner proud. All in all, Sidney's is a must-visit if you are in Elizabeth City or the area. Right in the midst of downtown, it's near the waterfront and art galleries.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryhob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Sidney's Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Mary,

Thanks so much for your kind words...Hope to see you again in the future and look out for some of our new specials we have coming!! Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidney's Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sidney's Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing