We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the cost - don't expect the Ritz”

Days Inn Elizabeth City
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Elizabeth City
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice for the cost - don't expect the Ritz”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

You get what you pay for and for $60/night, this hotel was a place to sleep and shower. If you are looking to save a few bucks or don't expect the Ritz, the price was good for what you get. The continental breakfast really surprised me and the wifi signal was very strong too.

For the cost, it worked for what I needed. If I was planning a trip for the whole family or was going to be in my room for an extended time, I would look elsewhere. The Holiday Inn next door will cost you more than double, so it just depends what you want. $60/night @ Days Inn or $120+/night @ Holiday Inn about 50 feet away.

As long as you don't go into this assuming $60/night will mean luxury, you'll be fine. If you expect a lot, avoid this Days Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClevelandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    36
    40
    44
See reviews for
56
26
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This place was the worst I have ever stayed. Bedding seemed clean. It was barebones bed dresser table chairs. Bathroom had mold and tile falling off. Whole room was in need of major cleaning. We kept shoes on in room. There was coffee maker but no pot. No garbage can in bathroom. I went to front desk to ask for lightbulb the clerk at front desk said she did not have any, I think I disturbed her phone call. I paid for this in advance with no refunds yet when I was waiting for desk clerk to get off phone there was a list of rooms rented and how much they paid they were all $10 to $15 less than I paid. Internet price was rip off. I am amazed Days Inn allows this Place to use its name.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elizabeth City hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This hotel may not be perfect but they are certainly better than some of the expensive named hotels i have stayed at. The housekeeping staff are wonderful, my kids loved them. The desk clerks are great. And the rooms are more than acceptable. I love this hotel. Me being an EC resident, Days Inn is my first hotel choice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaRivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed here to save a few dollars last night and should have left as soon as I saw the room. The room smelled musty, there were little pebbles or rocks in my bed under the sheets, bed was as hard as any I've ever slept on. The TV had a green spot on the screen. There was one picture over bed and the rest of the room seemed like a painted over jail cell, No coffee pot, no shampoo, no closet for clothes,no iron, towels were old and felt like burlap, I just can't believe this was a days inn. I now know days inn will allow any old dump to hang their sign. No coffee in the morning, mildew was growing on shower head, an absolute dump!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!! I have learned my lesson. Always, check out the room first if you can.

Room Tip: go down the street to Quality Inn, a little more but includes breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MARK P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxborough, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was traveling with about 12 family members to NC for a funeral. We decided to get a few rooms at this hotel. After a 14 hour drive and getting in at 4am my first room smelled like there were 4 cats living in the room and using it as a liter box. We had horrible service. There were bugs and decon around the bed in our second room. The staff was rude and gave us problems while we were in the "breakfast area" aka a little mudroom at 9:45 (breakfast-which was a mess all over the counters) ends at 10. We were not eating, just sitting using a laptop waiting for other family members so we could go back home. contacted the hotel itself and they did not have the courtesy to even get back to me. I then went to the BBB where they told me the hotel would get back to me- still they did not. Finally Days Inn issued me a whole $30 (mind you this wasn't even the amount of a full night). This was not southern hospitality and this hotel should be checked into by the health department (which I did contact on them!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed at the Days Inn Mar 22 and 23, 2012. The bathroom fixtures were recent, with nice ceramic tile. Good size fridge and microwave, both clean. Towels and coffee service replenished each day, carpet clean and room did not smell like stale smoke. Lots of TV channels to choose from. Furnishings a little worn around the edges, but this isn’t the Hampton Inn. I noticed a sanitation certificate near the desk, they are subject to inspections. Breakfast included bagels (there's a toaster), donuts, juices, coffee. Yes, there’s traffic outside—just turn the fan on so you won’t hear it and think of all the money you’re saving. This motel is right next to the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: The farther away from the road, the less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff was very friendly and tried to accomodate; however, the room itself was horrible. The floor was swept, but the carpet was very old and looked like embedded with dirt and grime from over the years. The refrigerator had food from the previous guest in it, furniture was worn and not stable, the bed linen (spread) looked like it was very old and grimy. Although the bathroom had been cleaned, the walls were spotty and it looked dirty. This hotel needs a complete makeover!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antoinette332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Elizabeth City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Elizabeth City

Property: Days Inn Elizabeth City
Address: 308 S Hughes Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Elizabeth City 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
fully renovated- 2017 renovated with new lvt flooring. New furniture, micro/refrigerator, high speed internet,new tubs, walls redone,free breakfast,24 hr front desk service,electronic doors, security cameras,pets allowed with a small fee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Elizabeth City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing