We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An above average HI experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Certificate of Excellence
Sykesville
Level Contributor
235 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“An above average HI experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The property was well located and convenient. The rooms and facilities were clear than average. The staff was outstanding in every respect. It was quiet, and the wifi service worked well and was fast. Overall a very goos experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Great appreciation for your awesom review Eric A. Here at Hampton Inn Eizabeth City we make sure our rooms are clean and fresh for every guest. With newly added amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. From the entire team at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, Happy Holidays and we look forward to seeing you again. We love having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    98
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
152
89
24
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was one of the nicest hotels, witih the friendliest staff that I have ever stayed in. I stayed at another facility (different chain, but supposedly 'higher quality') later the same week that was not nearly as helpful, clean or well-maintained as this hotel. Thanks Hampton!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Many thanks Julia J for your great review about the Hampton Inn Elizabeth City. Our goal is to please each and every guest. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay. We love having you here and look forward to seeing you again. From the team here at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, Happy Holidays and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I work in E-City often and used to stay at the Fairfield, but not any more. I would recommend the Hampton. Staff is much more accommodating and they have a great reception for guest from 5-7:30. You can also walk to Golden Corral and Ruby Tuesday for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you greatly for such a fantastic review Tina B. The staff at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City wants to make this your home away from home. Our goal is to make sure all our guest's needs are met. We are conveniently located with many resturaunts nearby to choose from. We also have a social on Tuesday and Wednesday nights 5:30pm to 7pm. The social includes different light dinner options to choose from with complimenetary wine, beer and soda. From the team at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, Happy Holidays and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel was excellent in every aspect. The front desk gave us a very warm and cheerful welcome and outstanding dinner recommendations. The hotel location is convenient for enjoying the interesting aspects of Elizabeth City and for getting on the road again easily. The hotels quiet and the free breakfast has good choices and the attendant was very helpful and friendly. In other words, this hotel meets every criteria of tradition al North Carolina hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
RIchard C your review is greatly appreciated. We enjoy hearing how great our staff is doing. We are conveniently located next to Golden Corrall and across the street from Ruby Tuesdays. We also have a convenient store just next door to us. We do have a wonderful breakfast here at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City with many options to choose from. We are also in the process of adding more choices to our breakfast bar. We look forward to seeing you again. From the team here at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, Happy Holidays and we love having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, WV, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here twice, and both time the staff were extremely pleasant (friendly) and helpful. the General Manager, David WInslow, is very out going and makes you feel at home as soon as you enter the Lobby. Hannah and Monique are stars!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
From all of us here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, we would like to thank you for the great review. We love to see our guest happy and we always try to go above the call of duty when it comes to service. We are glad to be your stop when in Elizabeth and hope that we can be for all of 2014. Thank you and we love to have you here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The difference at this hotel is the staff. They greet you and make you feel at home. The rooms are always clean and breakfast is decent. To sum it up the difference truly personal! Thanks Hampton of Elizabeth City, NC! See you next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Great thanks Teresa C for the "Awesome" review about our staff and hotel. We try not to have regular transactions with our guest but to breakdown the barriers so you feel right at home. I am please to hear we did that for you. Our already large breakfast is about to get much better with new options that will give you fresh and neatly presented food options that we are excited to add. We look forward to seeing you again and from all of us here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, Happy Holidays and we love to have you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Hotel is clean and very accessable. The staff is courtious and knowledgeable about the area as well as the programs offered. The breakfast area is clean and the selection is very good. I was impressed with the to go bags if you are on the run in the morning and don't have tome to sit and eat. Coffee available 24 hours is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank unstable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you unstable 1 for the great review of our property. It was our pleasure to serve you and your family while in Elizabeth City. We always try our best to make your stay one that want come back and see us. We are in the process of adding more breakfast options to our already lavish breakfast bar and of course the go bags will always be there for you. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City and we love to have you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pond House Inn
Pond House Inn
#5 of 5 in Elizabeth City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elizabeth City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elizabeth City

Property: Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Address: 402 Halstead Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elizabeth City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Any port in a storm" is an old seaman's saying, but if you're actually caught in a storm, try to make it to the town that surrounds our Hampton Inn® hotel in Elizabeth City. Why? Well, first of all, we're a harbor that offers a huge array of services. You'll find shops, docks, stores, and restaurants all along our waterfront. And second? We're home to the United States Coast Guard. They're just six miles from the Hampton Inn hotel in Elizabeth City. While you're in town, make sure to explore our gorgeous neighborhoods. Many boast Greek Revival, antebellum, Italianate, and Victorian homes and businesses. Those who love golf will find championship links within just a few minutes of our hotel in Elizabeth City. Lastly, if you pull into our town by boat, don't be surprised if you're greeted by a friendly welcome party complete with roses. It's a long tradition here in town-started by two private citizens in 1983 and continued by Elizabeth City's "Rose Buddies." It's yet another reason why we think you'll agree that the Hampton Inn hotel in Elizabeth City is in the friendliest harbor on the Eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Elizabeth City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City Hotel Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing