We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a typical Super 8.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn- Edenton
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Edenton
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“It's a typical Super 8.”
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Nothing fancy. That's not what anyone expects when staying at a Super 8. Room was clean. King size room has refrigerator and microwave. I do have 2 comments for consideration. 1. When open on a holiday, consider having the continental breakfast available past normal time. Have holiday hours set like weekend hours. I didn't want to get up early on Thanksgiving and have to rush to have breakfast. 2. When booking on a holiday and the hotel is almost empty, do not have guests staying right next door to one another. We had a very loud and obnoxious family stay next to us the second night. I could hear almost every word of every conversation....which started at 6:00 am and lasted until we left that morning.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lessnow59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    26
    18
    25
See reviews for
35
22
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

My husband, daughter and I arrived on July 4th for a one night stay. I made our reservation over the internet for a non-smoking room/2 double beds. When we arrived to check in we were told that they didn't have this type of room for us but that they had a king with a pull out couch. I showed the lady my confirmation printout with the number but she totally blew it off and told me that it really didn't mean anything. I insisted that i wanted the room that I had reserved and she said that they had a king bed and "did i want it or not?" My response was "well do i have a choice?" Her response was "is that your answer?" I nearly blew a gasket. I could not believe how rude and uncaring this woman was being. I told her that i would take the room anyway. After enduring the noise from the room above us, i finally fell asleep around 4:00 am. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. The people that worked the front desk when we checked in were the rudest i have ever encountered at a hotel. I know for a fact that i was not the only person to complain. Do yourself a favor and go to the Hampton Inn across the street.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — the entire experience was awful. We were shown how little they cared.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank mahick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edenton hotels

Barnesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Well, we knew from previous stays what we were in for. The problem is that when there is something going on, a wedding, graduation, etc....you will get stuck here if you don't book into the Hampton EARLY. We have family in Edenton, and have had to stay her several times because of the things aforementioned. This place really IS nasty. We are not picky people, and usually are just looking for a comfortable place to sleep. There has never been hot water at ANY stay in this hotel. The beds are about 100 years old. Housekeeping could be better. You couldn't pay me to swim in that pool, either. This place really isn't that old, opened in 92 or 93 if I remember correctly, and was called Travel Host Inn. It was nice back then but just hasn't been maintained.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
24 Thank edevine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

This place seems to be rather old, and it has not been kept up very well at all. The rooms were very small, the bathroom was really small, the sink was not even in the bathroom, but in the bedroom area. The walls had some sort of stain on them, which looked grimy. When I closed the door to the outside, I could still see light around the bottom and the door latch. Even when locked, the door seems flimsy, and loose. Turning on the light switch upon entry to the room, no lights would come on, I checked every light, but none seemed to be connected to this switch. The bathtub would not drain when I showered, very grimy feeling once again. The fridge was dirty inside, it needed a good cleaning. The beds were hard, and hard to sleep on. The walls were thin, I could easily hear people in the next room. As you can tell, I hated this place, so the next day, I moved across the street to the Hampton Inn, which is very very verrrrrrrrrrrrry nice. Compared to this Super 8, I felt like I was at a resort! Also the breakfast here at the Super 8 was pretty bad. The toaster would not even work. So do yourself a favor and DON'T stay here, believe me, the extra $20-25 for the Hampton is MORE than worth it, you won't be sorry.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
23 Thank dracos333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Edenton
Hampton Inn Edenton
#1 of 2 in Edenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
16.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Plymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 3 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Granville Queen Inn
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Coach House Inn
#7 of 8 in Edenton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inner Banks Inn
Inner Banks Inn
#2 of 8 in Edenton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn- Edenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn- Edenton

Property: Americas Best Value Inn- Edenton
Address: 501 Virginia Rd, Edenton, NC 27932-9801 (Formerly Super 8 Edenton)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Edenton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Edenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn- Edenton 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Edenton offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi. All guest rooms include microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV, HBO, and alarm clock. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For those guests that are in town on longer term corporate assignments or business trips we also offer special weekly and monthly rates, as well as direct billing options. For your convenience our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located off of US-17 North exit 227 and Virginia Road. We are near local attractions such as Barker House and Chowan Golf and Country Club. Americas Best Value Inn Edenton is your best choice within the Greenville region of North Carolina. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, sightseeing, or simply passing through on your way to Raleigh. At Americas Best Value Inn Edenton our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Inn Edenton, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn- Edenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Edenton
Super Eight Edenton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing