We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet spot in a beautiful area.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edenton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Quarters Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Edenton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quiet spot in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

A two night stay at this B&B included a morning "class" on how to prepare a southern BBQ, followed by an evening dinner where we ate the smoked ribs that we had prepared earlier in our class. Our room, number 8, was dark, walls of dark wood paneling. Other rooms appeared well appointed, bright and cheerful. The innkeepers were very gracious, helpful, and made us feel "at home". A very relaxing place to stay....however, I would choose a different room next time around...Edenton is an awesome area, too,

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    26
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
115
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, <mn
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have now stayed at Captain's Quarters Inn several times this spring. This is a gorgeous home in an ideal Edenton location (walking distance to the main street with shops, movies and the sound). Don and Diane are lovely hosts who prepare the most scrumptious breakfasts (using local veggies and often home made/cured/smoked sausage and bbq). Their wine collection, featuring many CA vintages, is superb (and lovely to sip on the large porch with a book or chat with fellow travelers). Their local knowledge of the area a real plus for folks new to the area. Rooms are spacious, impeccably decorated and affordable. I look forward to many more visits!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayak001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I spent 1 nigth with my wife at the Captain's Quarters Inn. The Inn is a nice independent house in a quite area just a few blocks from Edenton main downtown street.
Car park is available for guests behind the house.
The Inn has a small garden, a veranda, a hospitable sitting room, a reception area and a room for breakfasts.
The owners are nice persons, willing to give helpful information about the town and the region.
We had a room at the ground floor, it was wide, clean and confortable, with all services and amenities just like a good hotel.
The day of the check out we had to leave very early in the morning, before the time of the breakfast. The owners were very kind in providing us a complete breakfast even if the time was very early.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papx-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went to Edenton with two other couples to take Don's BBQ course. It was a lot of fun. There were five sets of people participating. The size of the kitchen required that there be two sessions. Therefore, being prompt was key. Each couple got to choose the makeup of their rub. At dinner, we got to sample all five and decide upon the one we liked best. It was a "blind" sample. We didn't know which was which until Don told us. The "lessons" on smoking, trimming and preparing ribs were short, sweet and informative. This gave us ample time to explore Edenton.

In this regard, the Inn is perfectly situated. Once we parked, we were able to walk everywhere. The Inn itself is a beautiful old home. It is well maintained, clean and comfortable. Don was very accommodating and helped us arrange a sail on the Albemarle Sound.

Edenton is a gem, the people are wonderful. Three days there, with two nights at the Captain's Quarters is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAMES H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

2 night stay nicer than expected. Don seemed a little curt at first but as time went on we all warmed up and embraced our differences, us being true Southerners, he being a Bostonian who lived many years in northern Ca.
The Inn has 8 bedrooms, but one of the fun things we enjoy with B&Bs is the opportunity to meet all kind of people.
Our stay included cookies & lemonade in the afternoon, wine @ BBQ sauce tasting in the evening for the 1st night. Loved the pumpkin pancakes & fresh sausage for breakfast. After breakfast Don gave us a BBQ rib rub & smoking class. Loved learning some of his BBQ competition secrets. Dinner that night allowed each person to taste each couples rib creation. Now that was fun. Then Don gave us all movie passes.
The time at the inn was lovely, lots of books, magazines, games, etc. which was good for our very rainy trip.
2nd breakfast also very good.
Don & Dianne great chefs. Although not a Southern warm & fuzzy, we
embarrassed our differences and enjoyed our time
Rooms and inn VERY clean.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank pmurray1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was the first time that my husband and I stayed at a B&B. I was way more excited than he was. There was a Living Social deal for their BBQ University. We decided to take advantage and are so happy that we did. Don was wonderful! He patiently talked us through the BBQ process, answering many questions from the other men in our group. We did a BBQ sauce tasting the first night with riblets. The second day after a wonderful breakfast we rubbed our own ribs, and then for dinner that night we ate the ribs plus baked beans, cole slaw and corn bread. The room was quiet and clean!! even if we don't return to Edenton (we saw it all), Don and Diane showed us tht B&B's are a wonderful way to vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The key here is the attention to detail by the owners. The room was impeccable, clean, well thought out, with one of the best bathrooms we have ever seen. Great porch. Breakfast could stand a bit more variety, but it is reliable with a focus on egg dishes. The owners are oenophiles (they ran a restaurants and wine bar in Napa Valley in their prior life), and are also avid BBQ cooks. They teack BBQ classes that we did not attend, but all participants raved. They provide sound advice about Edenton, which, incidentally, is a great place to kick back. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the most recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenton
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Edenton
Hampton Inn Edenton
#1 of 2 in Edenton
379 reviews
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 3 in Plymouth
79 reviews
15.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Plymouth
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inner Banks Inn
Inner Banks Inn
#2 of 8 in Edenton
311 reviews
4.4 mi away
Athol Plantation
Athol Plantation
#6 of 8 in Edenton
9 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Coach House Inn
#7 of 8 in Edenton
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Inn

Property: Captain's Quarters Inn
Address: 202 West Queen St, Edenton, NC 27932-1840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Edenton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Edenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing