We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service!”

The Chicken Kitchen
Ranked #18 of 26 Restaurants in Edenton
Cuisines: Fast Food
Description: Not the same as Chicken kitchen in Florida. Phone # 252-482-4721
Restaurant details
Description: Not the same as Chicken kitchen in Florida. Phone # 252-482-4721
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The entire front line of employees need to attend a customer service workshop! Very rude in person and over the phone. I called in and asked if I can place a to go order and the girl said, "um hmm". So I placed the order and said that was it and she said again, "umm hmm" and I gave her my name and again she said, "umm hmm". Really?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    22
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best chicken in town! Great fried seafood too!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Locals and travelers love this local institution. Trout, shrimp, oyster and flounder baskets are very popular, but not available through the drive-in. Great sides, including fried okra (my favorite)!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durants Neck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
513 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Small place in Edenton”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stopped there for breakfast. Really disappointing, except for the biscuits. We will not and have not been back.

Helpful?
Thank trflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merry hill, nc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast heaven!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

No atmosphere, but FANTASTIC breakfast options!! And if you miss breakfast, don't worry - they are "famous" for their chicken! Great biscuits (ultra thin ones at breakfast; fluffy ones for lunch and dinner) ...... the only item I would not personally recommend are the chicken strips -- way too heavily breaded and fried - too "crunchy" and not enough "chicken" for me. But a great fairly inexpensive place to fill up!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merry Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting place...”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

When we first drove up we saw a renovated house with a drive through that looked like it would be quaint and charming inside. Once we entered it was set up like any other fast food restaurant and a bit disappointing. We asked what was recommended and the cashier said "the fish" because she "doesn't like chicken " so we ordered a chicken and fish combo. However, where the ambiance was lacking the food did not disappoint. The chicken is definitely the way to go. The fish was good, but it's called Chicken Kitchen for a reason. The mashed potatoes were instant, but gravy made them better. Green beans canned and served southern style w/ bacon. Coleslaw was my favorite side because it tasted fresh and homemade with a nice crunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theginster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chicken Kitchen also viewed

Edenton, North Carolina Coast
Edenton, North Carolina Coast
 
Edenton, North Carolina Coast
Edenton, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Chicken Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing