We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse Accomodations-” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Edenton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Edenton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenton
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Worse Accomodations-”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

I made reservations for this hotel because I was traveling to handle family business in the area. I asked for a room with a refregeriator because of medicine. I arrived to the hotel, they did not have a room available with a refregeriator. I was told that they could keep my medicine in the back office. I explained no that was not secure. The manager was rude, and disrespectful. The second shift front desk person offered to send a ref. to the room that is used in the back office. The ref. came to the room and it did not work. The General Manager is awful and tries to belittle clients with concerns and/or issues.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
77 Thank shortsassy5851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    108
    42
    16
    16
See reviews for
113
100
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

The front desk staff was great- the room was clean and the bed was REALLY comfortable- large flat screen TV - pool for the kids- Breakfast was mini western omelettes, hash browns, bacon waffle bar, cereal - We were traveling with our 4 year old - The woman in charge of breakfast brought him crayons and a few pages out of a coloring book- AND turned the Lobby television to cartoons for him. I was really impressed, and will stay again next time for my next round of meetings....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkelly370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

The staff was about as friendly as any staff could be. I travel pretty often and I just felt like everyone there was TRULY nice. The room was a typical Hampton room. Location was very convenient to historic Edenton. It wouldn't be a real nice walk but a very short simple drive. There were a few convenient fast food places nearby. Edenton was an adorable historic town but very little dining/shopping options in the immediate area. I was there for the history though - so the hotel was great for that. We got a good price. The hotel is starting to show its age a bit, the room was clean but a bit dusty. My biggest Hampton Inn complaint is that as comfortable as the beds look and feel upon initial contact - the comforters are extremely soft and cozy BUT way to hot. I find it very difficult to sleep in the beds as I'm either too hot with the comforter on OR too cold with just the sheet. Adjusting the room temp never really seems to help. The only other hotel in the area (other than B&Bs) is a Super ? hotel across the street and I will say the Hampton looks like the Ritz compared to it. It's definitely the best option in Edenton

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cvgchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

Booked room (19 Dec 09) on internet via their website for one night (20 Dec 09). However, travel plans changed and at 1300 (1:00 pm) 20 Dec 09, I called hotel to cancel the reservations. I was informed that their cancellation policy is 24 hrs prior to arrival date and that since I was not within the 24hr period I would still be charged, so she could not give me a cancellation number. A check of their cancellation policy on the internet, clearly states 6:00 pm the day of check-in. Hampton Inn of Edenton still charged me for the night, because I was a no show. A called to the manager of the property states that because I did not have a confirmation number I did not call the hotel to cancel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
102 Thank Marine5821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Upon ending the 8th night of a two-week historic sightseeing trip we entered into our North Carolina portion and after driving for hours were warmly welcomed by this Hampton Inn in Edenton. The motel was a reflection of everything we experienced in Edenton: Beautiful, comfortable, refreshing, memorable ~ highly recommended. All aspects concerning the motel were excellent; the service, the room itself, the location, the spacious and wide-offering breakfast area and the pleasant staff. As a sidebar, yet most important, there is a Shell service station just five minutes from the motel, where the most kindhearted and generous man and woman helped us the next morning to get our vehicle repaired, quickly and efficiently, with the love you would find from old-time family, neighbors and friends. We will always be touched by our remembrances of these people, as well as the cheerful and kind hostesses at the Edenton Visitor Center down the street who give introductions, including a beautiful, short film, about the history of Edenton. Before leaving Edenton we also visited the waterfront and strolled nearby historic sites a bit. If you want to experience the heart of Eastern North Carolina beauty, serenity, history and goodness, anchor yourself at the Hampton Inn in Edenton.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ActiveCommunications
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

im fron nyc and my fam lives in this litle town (merry hill) and this is a GREAT GREAT hotel. nice and plush. i hate motels cause the bugs are just gross and this was like being at home. KUDOS to hampton for adding a real hotel to a tiny town and not another rinky dink motel. breakfast was GREAT each morning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misslaydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

This was a wonderful place to stay. The room was clean, everything in great condition and working order. The breakfast was great and the person in charge there even was willing to get me some fruit specially when I feared being allergic to what was in that which was on the buffet. The staff was very helpful and friendly. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenton
17.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 3 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
16.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Plymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Granville Queen Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inner Banks Inn
Inner Banks Inn
#2 of 8 in Edenton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
5.6 mi away
Athol Plantation
Athol Plantation
#6 of 8 in Edenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coach House Inn
Coach House Inn
#7 of 8 in Edenton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Edenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Edenton

Property: Hampton Inn Edenton
Address: 115 Hampton Dr, Edenton, NC 27932-8815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Edenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Edenton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn hotel in Edenton is just minutes away from the Historic downtown area of "The South's Prettiest Town." Our hotel is conveniently located off of Highway 17 bypass at Exit 227. If you love history, you'll love our tree-lined streets, graced with historic homes and buildings. Don't miss the Barker House, Cupola House and the Chowan County Courthouse, it's all just minutes from the Hampton Inn hotel in Edenton. Thriving shops and restaurants dot the town, creating a warm and romantic place to spend a weekend -- or week. Stroll along the Edenton Bay waterfront, take in the walking tour of the Edenton Historic District or just enjoy the moment in our famous small town of Edenton, North Carolina. Once you've poked about downtown, make sure to explore many of the excellent opportunities for fun in the surrounding area. You'll find many opportunities for boating, fishing, golfing, swimming, and paddling nearby. So come check into the Hampton Inn hotel in Edenton, and get to know our historic port city.services & amenities. Here at the Hampton Inn, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay exceptional. Whether you're planning a corporate meeting or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Edenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Edenton Hotel Edenton
Edenton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing