We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we were after :)”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax in the garden and enjoy the views or explore the beautiful Peak District National Park.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the garden and enjoy the views or explore the beautiful Peak District National Park.
Enjoy views of the beautiful Derbyshire countryside from the dining table. The wood burning stove helps create a cosy atmosphere when it’s cold outside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Relax in the garden and enjoy the views or explore the beautiful Peak District National Park.
Enjoy views of the beautiful Derbyshire countryside from the dining table.
The wood burning stove helps create a cosy atmosphere when it’s cold outside.
We provide a starter pack for the fire and logs can be bought from our caretaker.
Please ask if you need the high chair.
The kitchen is well equipped for family dining.
The double bedroom looks out onto the garden and countryside.
We can provide a travel cot if needed.
The bathroom has a shower over the bath.
The hare-themed twin bedroom. Hares can frequently be seen in the locality.
All rooms face the front of the cottage.
You’re welcome to store your bikes in the games room.
As well as the pool and football table we have toys, games, books, puzzles, TV (new) and DVDs.
New for 2019 a secure bike store and larger paved parking area.
There is an extensive network of bridleways and green lanes that can be accessed from Wormhill.
Bike maintenance and cleaning equipment are provided.
Bike maintenance stand and pump.
Outdoor tap and hose for cleaning down your bikes.
Sockets for charging E Bikes and boot driers are in the bike store.
We accept up to two dogs.
Drive entrance, turn immediately right through the wooden gate.
Take in the view and relax on the decking area.
Early morning mist taken from the garden, August 2016.
Decking area and garden where you can relax and dine. There is a barbeque for outdoor cooking.
We provide a washing machine and tumble drier as well as an outdoor clothes line.
Original Victorian features of the old walled garden.
The driveway leading away from the cottage.
Autumn morning view from the cottage.
Entrance pillar to The Potting Shed. The cottage used to be part of Hargate Hall.
Autumn view from the cottage.
Looking towards Hargate from the front garden.
Rural views from the front garden - looking towards Mam Tor..
James Brindley Memorial Well Wormhill where a traditional well dressing can be seen last week in Aug
Wormhill well dressing 2016.
The Cascade at nearby Chatsworth House, Bakewell.
We have many garden birds visiting the feeders.
The Monsal Trail at Millers Dale about a mile from the Potting Shed.
Tideswell is the nearest village - 2 miles away. Tideswell Church know as the Cathedral of the Peak
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wormhill, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Just what we were after :)”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great value, cute & cozy place to stay for 4 people. Lovely outdoor seating area with beautiful views. Excellent location for a 2 minute stroll to Hargate hall. Perfect for what we needed. Thanks!

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
Thanks Laura, I'm glad the cottage worked out well for you and thanks for posting a lovey review, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise J
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a great location with fantastic views”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay. The cottage was very well equipped and was warm and cosy. The very pretty garden has a pleasant sitting out area with table and chairs that takes full advantage of the truly lovely views which can also be seen from the main room and bedrooms in the cottage. The location gave easy access to many places including Tideswell, Bakewell and Buxton. Fiona was very helpful during the booking process and it was nice to be greeted by Tony on arrival who gave us useful local information. We would love to stay again and would recommend.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
Thank you Louise for your lovely feedback and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the weather was good too, which is a bonus. We hope to welcome you back again one day. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise6...
1 review
“Really lovely, amazing views and so clean”
Reviewed February 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Beautiful little cottage, sparkling clean and with everything you could need. Fantastic views to wake up to. Definitely recommend, and would love to come again. Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will be making the garage into a games room in May so if you make a return visit there will be some changes. Thank you again for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyG2237
2 reviews
“Quiet, cosy cottage”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely short stay, the cottage had everything we needed. Was lovely and warm with a very comfy bed. Beautiful views and late evening stroll round the old estate with our dogs. Dog friendly, tiled floor that was easy to keep clean.

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very pleased the cottage provided everything you needed and you enjoyed the location. Thanks again, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtie201...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute, cosy and picture-perfect views!”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My friends and I had a lovely stay at The Potting Shed. We loved the decor inside and the amazing views across the countryside. This quiet, cosy property is a real gem. I've already been recommending it to people!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2016
Thanks so much, that's very kind of you and we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
514Carol
Romford
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved the cottage and the area. The cottage had absolutely everything we needed and we would not hesitate to return.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
So pleased you loved the cottage and area. Thank you for booking with us and your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faysy
Sandiacre, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect space to see the stars”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from the Potting Shed for a wedding at the Hall. The shed id nothing like a shed. Its a beautiful cottage. The double bed was so very comfy. There's everything you need washer/dryer for those damp Summer days Fridge microwave cooker and dishwasher. The bunks were comfy and suitable for adult or child. There are plans to make the link to the Hall easier as that was the only negative I can give there is no easy walk through its a walk around the quiet country roads. Watching the stars with no light pollution was amazing. Would highly recommend and will be going back.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I could move in tomorrow and live in that shed
Liked least: The walk round to the Hall
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Thanks very much for your kind words and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. We keep making improvements to the accommodation and gardens so it's great to see our efforts are being appreciated. I hope the wedding went well and do get in touch if you'd like to make a return to the Potting Shed. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing