We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fab weekend”
Review of Hargate Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hargate Hall
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Another fab weekend”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is our second trip to hargate. Last year there was snow but none this year unfortunately. Hargate Hall is fabulous for large groups or individual apartments. There were about 70 of us and because each apartment has it's own living room it didn't feel too crowded. The bits and bobs that need doing in each apartment only add to the charm of the place, after all it's not a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodieh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
37
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had a lovely stay in Hargate Hall for our friends' wedding weekend. The ceremony was held in the hall itself, with the bride entering down the impressive staircase and the reception was in a surprisingly warm and inviting marquee in the grounds.
The apartment we stayed in was more than adequate, with plenty of hot water and a modern kitchen (nicer than the one we have at home!) The electricity meter didn't cost more than a few pounds and we had a scuttle full of coal included in the room price, which we made use of to keep cosy on the Sunday night.
The owners were great- there if we needed them but not interfering in any way.
All in all, we had a lovely stay in Hargate Hall and would definitely return to explore more of the beautiful countryside which surrounds it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterHaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The hall is packed with atmosphere whilst staying free of things we'd worry about the kids harming. Rooms have a charm that weve got used to over the 22 years weve been coming - initially as students on a budget making use of every sofabed and every mezzanine, now augmented by loads of kids with bikes, balls and the various detritus that accompanies them, and using more rooms and more space. Yes, it all needs a bit if an update, there are repairs needed here and & there, (& what a task Anthony & family have taken on!) but it's not meant to be a five star hotel, but a functional, friendly and fun escape into some marvellous countryside. Grounds are excellent to let the kids have a bit of controlled feral time - & they love it. And so we love it too!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paindoc412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend with my wife and twin boys (15), we were met by Anthony when we arrived at about 8.00 pm. We were offered a choice between the apartment we had booked and the one next door, as it was free that weekend, this was a nicer apartment with more space and would have cost more, however Anthony said we could use whichever we prefered. There was tea, coffee and sugar with a pint of milk in the fridge so you could sit relax and have a cuppa as soon as you got there. Hargate Hall is beautifully situated in the countryside on the outskirts of Wormhill, very quiet and peaceful.
Anthony recommended The Devonshire Arms in Peak Forest about 3 to 4 miles away, for dinner and a pint, he even phoned them and told them we were coming, in case they finished food prior to our getting there. The level of equipment supplied in the kitchen is amazing, full sets of pans, full oven, full 4 ring hob, microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle
2 frying pans, every conceivable utensil you could require. Normally in self catering accommodation there is just enough equipment to warm up some basic food, here you could home cook any size meal from scratch. The apartment we stayed in had two bathrooms, both with full baths and , shower overhead The lounge had tv, video/dvd player and Hi Fi system. During our stay we cycled the Tissington Way, a former railway line converted for walking and cycling, this is about 8 miles away, you can hire bikes at Parsley Hay, towards the top of the trail, they cost about £20 each, for a full day, the ride to Ashbourne at the bottom of the trail is about 13 miles, there are a number of pubs close to the trail for lunch and a drink. The following day we took a walk up through Deep Dale and Horseshoe Dale, using a walk guide I downloaded from the internet. Last day we went to Alton Towers, this is about 30 miles away.
Overall this was delightful accommodation, in a beautiful setting, Anthony and Julie were charming hosts and were always on hand, as they live in The Coach House at the side of Hargate Hall.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevesheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We booked out Hargate Hall for a 40th birthday party over new year and had a brilliant time. The accommodation was clean, well kept, very well equipped, warm and comfortable. It's not a 5 star hotel and it is not decked out in stylish furnishings, but it is all very well done. We cooked a three course dinner for 65 people using one of the kitchens (with some additional pans that we bought along) and ate and partied in the main hall, which was ideal for what we wanted. Several people we were with decided more or less on arrival that they wanted to book it for the summer to come back with their children. All the children with us loved the place and because it's not 5 star, they could run around and have fun without us worrying about them doing any damage. Mezzanine beds might not be everyone's cup of tea, but there are plenty of other apartments that don't have them. The owners were around when we needed stuff (baking powder for a birthday cake and there was also a problem with the hot water which was quickly sorted out), but mainly left us alone to do our own thing, which was exactly what we wanted. It baffles me that anyone could spend 70 quid on the electricity meters. Over 4 days i reckon we spent no more than about 10 quid per apartment. And yes, the lights go out occasionally, but that's hardly a big drama. Anyway, we loved it and it seems like the owners have got many repeat visitors who value the place for all it offers. Thanks to Anthony and Julie. We're looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkWigLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, Cheshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We've just returned from another magical weekend at Hargate Hall and for anyone looking for somewhere with atmosphere, beautiful scenery, comfortable accommodation then you really can't go wrong.

I'm quite amazed how many reviews on here say it's "not 5 star" - no, it's not, but then neither are the prices, Hargate offers comfortable accommodation at excellent value prices, and make no pretence otherwise. (If you want 5 star, be prepared to pay another couple of hundred pound per person and have nowhere near the atmosphere here). The main hall with roaring fire, 11 ft Christmas Tree and sparkly lights really was welcoming, the apartments are well furnished. The grounds are just fantastic, especially when snow clad.

Rather than write reams and reams about what a wonderful weekend we've had, the photos say it all http://on.fb.me/gn5dLS

Thanks again Hargate Hall, we'll be back again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissieSWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Have to agree with the negative postings, its very basic and and suffers from Victorian country house damp and cold. The "mezzanie bedroom", can only be referred to as the sleeping shelf.... My idea of a holiday is not cramming in one entire family in an apartment - sofa bed, bunk beds etc... but as I say if you like camping this will be fine, however if you expect hotel type accomodation with stylish decor, you might be in the wrong place.

I understand that owning an old Victorian house is a constant work in progress, but it need not be quite so obvious to the guest!! these days internet is a given and Freeview TV. apparently the Hall is too far from an exchange for either to exist.!

Didn't met the managers - key was left in the door by another member of our party - and that seems to be how it works, fend for yourself self-catering. You would be lost with a local family member staying with you. ;-(

not a hotel a self-catering bring your own towels, food and entertainment place. It does deliver that.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wormhill
4.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.9 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
3.5 mi away
Staden Grange
Staden Grange
#3 of 19 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hargate Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hargate Hall

Property: Hargate Hall
Address: Wormhill, Buxton SK17 8TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton > Wormhill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wormhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hargate Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just five minutes from the centre of famous Buxton, this Victorian country house offers self catering apartments for 2 to 10 people with free Wi-Fi and open fires. Built in 1899 as a gentleman’s residence, Hargate Hall is set in seven acres of parkland near Buxton in the centre of the Peak District National Park. Converted to apartments in 1990, it now offers fully furnished and well equipped accommodation for a relaxing break.Apartments vary in size, from one bedroom to three bedrooms; however all contain modern conveniences such as flat-screen televisions, DVD players, digital channels and free Wi-Fi, to ensure a comfortable, home-from-home feel. Some rooms boast mezzanine style floors, ideal for older children. Apartments also feature fully equipped kitchens, giving you the freedom to either prepare your own meals or enjoy one of the many dining options found in Buxton. Well maintained decor and tasteful furnishings provide a relaxing space in which to unwind after a full day enjoying all of the area’s attractions. The heating in the apartments is operated by a pound coin meter which guests can use.Being in the heart of the beautiful Peak District National Park, Hargate Hall offers a fantastic location to for a break of any duration. The Peak District was the first National Park to be established in England and is now the most visited in Britain. Dotted with picturesque villages and scenes of natural beauty, it is a vastly popular location for both the new and seasoned visitor. A wealth of activities and pursuits ensure there is something for everyone, ranging from mountain biking, caving, rock climbing and hang gliding to summer fetes, antiques shopping and visits to the area many historical houses and attractions. Chatsworth House, one of England’s most grandiose stately homes, is located a short distance away, with its stunning architecture, impressive art collection and scenic grounds. The nearby village of Castleton boasts 4 grand caverns, including the Blue John Cavern, named after the attractive variety of Fluoride found only in the immediate region.Founded by Romans and originally named Aquae Arnemetiae, Buxton has a long history as a spa town with its geothermal spring rising at a constant temperature of 28c. The popular tourist attraction of St Ann’s Well, a shrine to St Ann since medieval times, allows visitors to bottle limestone filtered water piped directly from the spring. The town also offers many sites of historical interest and of course the stunning architecture for which it is famed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hargate Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing