We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the few places worth the cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“one of the few places worth the cost”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Attended a wedding function with this as the destination hotel last weekend. Large group and except for the slowness in the bar for food due to volume, it was almost perfect. Help is great at all levels highly recommend Angelo in the bar a true professional.

From the bellman to the housekeeping staff no detail is overlooked. If your in the RDU area it is a must stay. Duke University quality in all respects including the Golf course.

Room Tip: get a golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milespert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Milespert,

We’re so happy to know that you had an excellent experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! Guests often comment about the high level of service provided by our staff…its one compliment that we never get tired of hearing! It is our mission to ensure that all guests have a phenomenal stay. Thank you for your kind remarks about Angelo. He’s a remarkable team member and we’re excited to share this with him. We do apologize for your wait time in the bar. We try our very best to serve guests quickly and efficiently. We greatly appreciate your review and look forward to your return to the Inn!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    136
    46
    17
    13
See reviews for
251
125
41
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Enjoyed the classic, resort, traditional style hotel during a visit to Duke Univ. Took in the area restaurants so didn't partake of the food, but staff was very pleasant and accommodating without being stuffy. Great dining suggestions and directions from the concierge. Comfy beds, good housekeeping but a tad off mark with maintenance (shower handle fell off when adjusting, and black areas around caulking on tub).

Room Tip: Ask to be near the end of the hall for best views - otherwise you're blocked by trees if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCWDMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear SCWDMIA,

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and we truly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and found our staff and concierge to be accommodating and friendly. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered in your bathroom. We will be sure to address this with our engineering team. Again, thank you for your review. We hope you will consider staying with us during your next visit to Durham!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in June while dropping my son off at Duke Basketball Camp. The hotel is across the street from the Duke campus and about a 15 minute walk to Cameron Indoor Stadium. My room was an average-sized king room, but it was neat and clean. The bed was comfortable with crisp linens, and I took advantage of the nightly turndown service. The staff was friendly, attentive and helpful. I did not visit the restaurant or bar. Overall, it is a fine hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDawgs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear GoDawgs11,

Thank you for your gracious comments about the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! We’re pleased that you found our location convenient to campus, your guestroom to be comfortable and clean, and our staff to be friendly, attentive and helpful during your stay. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was here for a conference in July. The property looks terrific and the hotel was comfortable and convenient. The staff were all helpful. The food in the bar was good, but a little expensive. Overall a great hotel and I would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justlogical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear justlogical,

We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your conference and your stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! It’s wonderful to know that you found our staff helpful and our hotel comfortable and convenient. The Bull Durham Bar offers a unique dining experience and we’re happy you enjoyed the food. Thank you for sharing your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Right across from the Duke University Campus and stuffed with memorabilia from the Duke family this hotel was a very pleasant surprise. First rate rooms, furnishings and food with a magnificent golf course. The prices (at least in the Summer!) were very reasonable. To star prices for a four star hotel. It's an easy walk to the famous Duke University Chapel and the hotel is right on a lovely three mile nature trail fro running or hiking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ian M,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! You mentioned several of the wonderful features and amenities of our property. We are thrilled you had a wonderful visit and were able to explore and enjoy our beautiful hotel. Whether business or pleasure brings you back to Durham, we hope your visit includes the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here in connection with a meeting at Duke... a great location for anything having to do with Duke. Excellent facilities, a staff eager to please, good tap selections at the bar, and the feel of an old-world establishment altho the facility is only 25 years old.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middkiddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Middkiddad,

We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff accommodating and that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. Our location just on the edge of Duke’s campus makes us an ideal location for university related activities and events. And there’s no better way to end the day than with a cold beverage in the Bull Durham Bar! We’re proud to offer our guests the very best in local brews. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

No complaints. Everything at this excellent hotel is perfect. Great service. Great rooms. Absolutely ideal. You won't find anything better than the Washington Duke Inn. Beautiful grounds. Wonderful rooms. Excellent food and beverage. Everything is top notch. If you expect the best, stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FunTravelingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear FunTravelingAround,

We are so very pleased and humbled by your review! Our team works extremely hard to provide the very best service to our guests, and it is evident that you had a wonderful experience and were truly delighted during your stay. From the accommodations to the dining and amenities, we are glad your stay was “perfect”. Thank you again for the fantastic review. We can’t wait for your return to the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
2.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#16 of 71 in Durham
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
249 reviews
1.3 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
8.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Property: Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd, Durham, NC 27705-1059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing