We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, location and accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, location and accommodation”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for a regional baseball tournament. Although there were no washers/dryers on location (they do have laundry service and there were several very good laundromats nearby), that was the only "negative." The staff were friendly, professional and always helpful. The room was clean and quiet and the two double beds were very comfortable so we slept well every night. There is a nice indoor pool and smallish gym but I forewent the gym in favor of the Adam Buehler trail - a 3.1 mile paved trail (packed dirt at some locations) which I ran each and every day. Less than one minute from the front door of the hotel. Fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabringit9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear tabringit9,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club with the TripAdvisor community! We are so happy you had such a wonderful stay with us. Our staff is dedicated to ensuring that each guest has a spectacular stay and we are thrilled we were able to meet your needs. We’re pleased you enjoyed your accommodations, the dining options and our location as well as the Al Buehler Trail. It truly is a wonderful amenity and one that many guests are fond of. We greatly appreciate your complimentary review and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    133
    45
    15
    12
See reviews for
240
121
39
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lovely old hotel. Staff was very good and helpful. The food and drink were fabulous. Love the crab cakes, banana walnut pancakes and the wonderful margarita cheesecake!!! Beautiful area. Close to the University.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear carolyn352,

It’s wonderful to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! It’s our passion to delight each of our guests and we are thrilled you experienced that. We are so happy you were able to enjoy our fabulous dining options. Our culinary team is absolutely the best and the cuisine is out of this world! Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We can’t wait to welcome you back to enjoy our beautiful hotel and (of course) the delicious dishes of the Fairview Dining Room!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Went there with my daughter to visit Duke. Extremely convenient to Duke University's Admissions office and the campus. It's right across from the campus down a tree lined street. Very pretty room decorated in yellows and light blues. The grounds around the hotel are a lovely golf course. The staff was very attentive offering help with the bags, the door, the car, etc. we had breakfast which included two egg white omelets and two cups of tea. Out omelets were huge and the breakfast was pricey at $35.00. There is an Indoor pool with lounges both inside and outside the building near the pool. If my daughter gets in, I would say it is a plus having such a nice resort near the campus.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheswilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Cheswilson,

We are so glad to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Duke University. Our location just on the edge of campus makes us a popular destination for Duke visitors. We are so pleased you enjoyed our lovely guest rooms and grounds, and received wonderful service from our phenomenal staff. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the TripAdvisor community. We hope you will be joining us for many stays in the future!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night but it was very good. The room was comfortable but elegant and very clean. There was some confusion about our room service but someone came and sorted it quickly and without hassle which was great. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Rebecca L,

Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club experience! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the guest rooms to be clean, comfortable and elegant. Our team members pride themselves on providing wonderful service to all guests and I am happy to know they were able to service your needs quickly and efficiently. We greatly appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I booked directly from the hotel. We ended up upgrading to a junior suite which consited of five rooms. We have a few complaints about the room. Some of the upgraded technology did not work such as one of the extra TV screens. The Coffee station was not cleaned and had already been used by someone. If I had not noticed the night before I would have been furious becaus I am a coffee person. The only coffee available in the room was a kuriegg and without the K-cups it is pretty much useless.

Room Tip: If the upgrade for a reasonable price it is well worth it. We upgraded for $30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkmurray89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear pkmurray89,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We welcome feedback from our guests as it provides us with the necessary information to continue to improve upon the guest experience. We are terribly sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Please know that this is not the standard of service we provide to our guests. We will speak with our housekeeping team about the issues you noted and ensure that they are addressed. Again, we apologize that your experience fell short of your expectations. We do hope that you will consider a stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed the night here after getting a good deal on Hotwire. We are local and were moving from Durham to Raleigh, and our movers had our stuff overnight. Sometimes with Hotwire bookings we have found service/rooms to be a bit lacking, not so here at all. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodated our request for a king bed immediately (rather than the double queen that was originally booked).

The grounds and hotel are incredibly beautiful. We are not golfers and arrived at the hotel around dinnertime and had to check out first thing the next morning, so we didn't have time to experience any amenities, but the indoor pool looked great. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant either, the prices were pretty high and because we are local we knew the good restaurants around town there.

The bathroom in our room was absolutely gorgeous - full tile and a granite countertop double sink vanity. Shower was hot and water pressure was good (and felt great after moving furniture and boxes all day). Towels were plentiful and thick. Air conditioner was great and not that loud which is a huge bonus. TV was a little weird, I couldn't figure out how to display the guide showing everything that was on right then, but not a big deal. We usually watch TV on our Ipad anyway using Netflix. Internet was free and fine.

I wish that we would have been able to spend more time at the hotel checking out all they had to offer, but for our short stay it was a wonderful and much needed break in the middle of our move. I would like to extend a huge thank you to the staff at WDI for making our stay awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 633NicoleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Nicole L,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for your kind remarks about the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! We are so happy that you selected us to be your “home” for the evening during your move. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the beauty of our property as well as the guest room accommodations. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff as they will be pleased that they greatly impacted your stay. If you’re looking for a staycation in the future, we’d be honored to welcome you back to the Inn to experience all of the amenities of our beautiful property. Again, thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We love to stay at the Washington Duke Inn. It is comfortable while being elegant. Waking up early you can find a number of nooks to read in near a fireplace on scattered comfortable chairs or couches in the Inn with coffee service in the bar area. Want a nice afternoon tea? Available in the Fairview dining area that is delicious and accommodating as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferSN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear JenniferSN2013,

Thank you for sharing details of your recent visit to the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the “comfortable elegance” of our beautiful hotel. Guests often comment on the cozy corners and quite nooks that make the Inn a wonderfully, relaxing retreat. We greatly appreciate your recommendation of our Afternoon Tea service. It’s a true treat and the Fairview Dining Room creates the perfect atmosphere for such a lovely tradition. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest. We look forward to your return!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#13 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.3 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
2.4 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Property: Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd, Durham, NC 27705-1059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing