We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A much better than average biz conference experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A much better than average biz conference experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I spent two nights here for a conference. I had a king room that overlooked the driving range. Bed was comfortable; room was quiet. Bathroom was large and comfortable. The room included a Keurig machine for morning coffee.

The conference facilities were pleasant and the food was much better than average--especially for a conference! I like history, so I particularly enjoyed all the pictures and memorabilia on display in lobby/common areas. The small walled garden just outside the conference rooms offered a really nice spot for a break from the sessions.

Would stay again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    133
    45
    15
    12
See reviews for
244
123
39
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
502 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Inn during our trip to attend a Duke home game and we were so delighted with the beauty and comfort of the hotel, incredibly helpful staff, and easy to walk to the campus. Everything was perfect and we love it! Highly recommend if you are going to Duke for a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 5 times in 3 years and have yet to get a decent room. Either it is next to the elevator, overlooking the air conditioners or the last time reserved a king room 3 months in advance and was placed in two doubles "sorry no king bed rooms available". Really? What is the purpose of the advance reservation then. Hotel seemed about half full to top it off. Rooms are not very noise proof as well. However, the grounds, proximity to Cameron and campus, and the bar are really very nice. So depends on what you value. If the golf course and being on campus are most important, then stay here. If quiet spacious rooms are what you want then there are better options close by, just off campus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

In town for job interview. We spent 3 nights at this gorgeous hotel. The staff is first class, the rooms are very, very clean, and the food is top notch as well.
The legacy of the Duke family is posted on every wall - a great way to get a sense of the local history, traditions and community.
This hotel is a must for visiting the Durham area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio_Sandra_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had the privilege of staying at this hotel while in Raleigh for a one day conference. Excellent accommodation standard and friendly staff. I was able to squeeze in 18 holes of golf at the very affordable late day rate of $75 (included rental clubs, green fees, and cart). I had the caesar salad with grilled salmon for $19 and a delicious Red Oak Lager. The NCAA's were on every screen and made for an excited crowd. Unfortunately I did not get to explore the area so I can not comment to local attractions but with out a doubt if you need to be at or near Duke I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The people who work here are lovely, the grounds are pretty and the location is great for visiting Duke University. If you aren't a golfer or a parent/student, i'm not sure why you would stay here. The prices are high and the rooms are very dated. We did use the gym and it was great and the pool area was gorgeous and clean. In summary, stay for location but if you travel with kids and fork over the money for a suite, you'll want to get out of your very small suite asap. I'm serious. You have to walk sideways to get around the master bed (on one side) and the pull out sofa (when pulled out) Not a comfortable set up for a family.
The other hitch is that there are often events going on here and if you're room is on the scenic, golfing side, be prepared to listen to clinking glasses below your window. These didnt stop until 12:15am and the weather wasn't all that nice. In great weather I imagine the noise to be worse. If you are a light sleeper, you'll probably want to stay on the parking lot side.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arbella8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaDuke, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. It was great to know you enjoyed the grounds and our location. We are also delighted you liked the pool and fitness center area. I was sorry to read your room was not as spacious as you might have desired. We strive to provide a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and regret we fell short of your expectations in any way. We do have many options for other types of suites and/or connecting rooms that might work out better for you should you choose to revisit our area. I do hope we get to explore these options with you in the future and would welcome the opportunity to make amends. Thank you again for your feedback. Complaints, as painful as they are, make us better.

Sincerely,

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We go to Duke Medical Center every 6 months and we will be staying at this beautiful hotel from now on. We also ate dinner in the informal Bull Durham Bar. There was an hour long live radio broadcast of a Blue Devil basketball show. We were sitting under a speaker and the broadcast was very loud and distracting. We requested to be moved to the library room off the bar which was much quieter. Service and food were both excellent.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a room overlooking the golf course. The view is nice and the rooms are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#16 of 71 in Durham
283 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#4 of 71 in Durham
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
3.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.3 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Property: Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd, Durham, NC 27705-1059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing