We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Nearby Hotels
$159
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$96
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrowhead Inn(Durham)
$224
$209
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveler rating
547
148
49
18
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
148
49
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursethe bull durham barfairview restaurantround of golffaculty clubelegant hotelsouthern charmbell staffcameron indoor stadiumself parkingwest campusplace to stayindoor poolbreakfast buffetcrab cakescommon areaschapel hill
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 776 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The people who work here are lovely, the grounds are pretty and the location is great for visiting Duke University. If you aren't a golfer or a parent/student, i'm not sure why you would stay here. The prices are high and the rooms are very dated. We did use the gym and it was great and the pool area was gorgeous and clean. In summary, stay for location but if you travel with kids and fork over the money for a suite, you'll want to get out of your very small suite asap. I'm serious. You have to walk sideways to get around the master bed (on one side) and the pull out sofa (when pulled out) Not a comfortable set up for a family.
The other hitch is that there are often events going on here and if you're room is on the scenic, golfing side, be prepared to listen to clinking glasses below your window. These didnt stop until 12:15am and the weather wasn't all that nice. In great weather I imagine the noise to be worse. If you are a light sleeper, you'll probably want to stay on the parking lot side.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arbella8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaDuke, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. It was great to know you enjoyed the grounds and our location. We are also delighted you liked the pool and fitness center area. I was sorry to read your room was not as spacious as you might have desired. We strive to provide a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and regret we fell short of your expectations in any way. We do have many options for other types of suites and/or connecting rooms that might work out better for you should you choose to revisit our area. I do hope we get to explore these options with you in the future and would welcome the opportunity to make amends. Thank you again for your feedback. Complaints, as painful as they are, make us better.

Sincerely,

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We go to Duke Medical Center every 6 months and we will be staying at this beautiful hotel from now on. We also ate dinner in the informal Bull Durham Bar. There was an hour long live radio broadcast of a Blue Devil basketball show. We were sitting under a speaker and the broadcast was very loud and distracting. We requested to be moved to the library room off the bar which was much quieter. Service and food were both excellent.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a room overlooking the golf course. The view is nice and the rooms are very quiet. Well worth the extra expense IMO.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

You can't beat the location if you need to be on campus. The hotel is obviously historic, so there are quaint parts to it, and spots where the ceilings are low and the rooms are small. There are lots of nooks with comfy seats in the common areas, and the outside areas with patios was really beautiful.

The rooms have been updated and the entire hotel is clean. Food was excellent. I found staff to be pleasant, but not as over the top and involved as others have mentioned. I would stay here again, but would say depending on your tastes and budget you might be equally happy elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I stay here at least once a year and always love it. The common areas are luxurious and elegantly furnished with lots of chairs and sofas for reading, enjoying the view, or people watching. The outdoor patio overlooks the golf course and putting green. The standard rooms are a bit small for a luxury hotel so you may want to opt for a larger room or suite. No mater what time of year the common areas tend to be cool and a bit drafty. The inn has a causal restaurant and bar and an elegant gourmet restaurant. There is ample self parking in addition to valet.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed at Washington Duke Inn while attending Duke-UNC basketball game. From the men at the door, to the reception desk, to the waiters in the restaurant everyone had a smile and "can I help you." As busy as the inn was, each person took the time to make each guest feel special. The inn is obviously a pro at handling large numbers of fans and had bar and restaurant facilities ready and waiting. The restaurant "tailgating" buffet was an added pleasure. The best BBQ ever, lots of choices of fresh salad, desserts, and the best service ever for a really busy night. Then a quick walk to game, happy quick walk back, and comfortable, quiet night at the inn. The best place in Durham to stay especially if visiting Duke University.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Traveler6102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews