We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

This is a lovely hotel with a lush interior, beautiful landscaping and great service. The restaurant is quite good as well. There is a somewhat small indoor pool on site, but the hotel can arrange for you to visit the faculty club right next with a large outdoor pool and tennis courts. Our room was plush and comfortable, although there was only one bedside lamp. This was not insurmountable because we could move another lamp to the bedside.

We got a great summer rate which included breakfast, so if you are planning a visit, check out the current promotions.

While this is a hotel that deserves many superlatives, I do have one complaint. My husband could not get a T time in advance because he was playing as a single. The pro shop confirmed that no one was scheduled to play, but they would not make an appointment for a single. I asked the hotel about it, and they said that they are not connected to the golf course. Well, why do they call themselves a Golf Club if they are not? Anyway, after some whining, the hotel was able to arrange for him to play. We were staying there so he could play golf, and they really put up roadblocks. Apparently, this would not have been a problem if we were playing doubles. We have stayed at a number of resorts that include a golf course, and this is the first time we have had trouble booking a T time for single play.

Everything else was great!

  • Liked — Great rate!
  • Disliked — Problem getting a T time
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ihopeihelped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    129
    43
    14
    12
See reviews for
233
116
39
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

My husband and I spent one night at the Washington Duke in July we checked in on Saturday to our beautiful (if small) suite with a golf course view. It was nice to have the sitting area for watching tv and reading. The furnishings were colonial style, bed was comfy with traditional (non spa like) linens. Air conditioner was a little noisy but did a great job on a very hot evening. We did not eat dinner at Washington Duke because there were three wedding receptions going on, we saw and said best wishes to all three beautiful brides. Instead we went out for dinner.. Many nice touches, I liked having a good scale in the bathroom, nice magnifying mirror too. Houskeeping had left little cakes for us since it was our anniversary, and brought chocolates at turndown. We got an excellent price, 139.00 which included a scrumptious Sunday morning buffet breakfast. We had made to order omelets, lots of fresh fruit, hot belgian waffles and even bagels and lox. All in all a great mini escape that was only 10 minutes from home but felt like a whole new world.

  • Liked — quiet, elegant, good attention to detail
  • Disliked — small size of room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

This is a beautiful hotel. The lobby is large and luxuriously decorated. Many interesting photos and paitings of the Duke family line the walls. Our room was nice as well, with a view of the golf course. Breakfast was excellent in the dining room. If you are a golfer, the course is not to be missed. On the edge of the Duke campus and near downtown this hotel is very convenient. Service was great as well. I would highly recommend this hotel and would glady return.

  • Liked — The luxurious lobby furnishings and pretty landscaping
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelSneak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory,NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

My husband is a patient at Duke Medical Center and we wanted a place to stay that was safe, clean and close to the hospital. We found all those things here. I do agree it is a bit pricey, but I value mine and my husbands safety far more. Food was very pricey ,however it was good. Rooms clean and quiet. The staff was amazing, I called to request a fridge be brought up for my husbands medication and truly I am not sure how in the world they got it there that fast. It was incredible. In addition , I found the entire staff to be that competent. My only even slight complaint, I thought it to be a bit too snobby, sometimes. Perhaps they could lighten up a bit. A bit more southern warmth and hospitality would be nice.I will stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean, safe, service was awesome!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SophiesNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

My family just returned from a 4 night stay at Washington Duke and found the hotel to be very clean, peaceful, and enjoyable. We received a discounted rate and probabley would not pay the full price unless we played golf. There is not alot to do there (small indoor pool, golf ) but we had an event at Duke University so it was very convenient for us and well worth the price we paid! Our service was excellent and the food at the restaurants was very good. On the down side, there is no breakfast included, no coffee pot or mini- microwave in room. However, we will definitely stay there again next year ! Lot's of great restaurants and shopping close by and great walking to Duke!

  • Liked — Clean, Pretty Rooms
  • Disliked — No Breakfast included
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lhurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2008

We had a wonderful two night stay in February. The hotel and grounds are lovely. Chose the hotel for its proximity to Duke. You're paying for that and no doubt the golf course. Loved the fact that we could walk to the campus. The rooms were a nice size (including the bath) and very well decorated. The beds were very comfy. The bar was a nice place to stop for food and drinks (great martinis, though expensive) in the afternoon. The food was quite good. The staff were all extremely friendly...everyone in NC appears to be. If my son decides to attend Duke, this will be the place for me to stay.

  • Liked — Level of service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fourmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texasyankee27
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2008

I was expecting something much more lush after reading these glowing reviews. The rooms were nothing special, comparable to any mid-lux chain, and my bathroom had not been thoroughly cleaned before I checked in. The staff was pleasant enough, but they certainly did not go out of their way as the hotel's website suggests. I felt that the decor was straining to be something the hotel so obviously was not. The only redeeming aspect of the visit is that the golf course will, I am sure, be lovely in the summer months. The poor rating is a reflection of the shattered expectations one has after reading the reviews and/or the hotel's website. You should be able to come across something much nicer for $279.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — The ambiance, or lack there of
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank texasyankee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#13 of 70 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Millennium Durham
Millennium Durham
#35 of 70 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.6 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Property: Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing