We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Nearby Hotels
$108
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$104
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$92
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveler rating
544
148
49
18
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
148
49
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursethe bull durham barfairview restaurantround of golffaculty clubelegant hotelsouthern charmcameron indoor stadiumbell staffself parkingwest campusplace to stayindoor poolbreakfast buffetcrab cakescommon areaschapel hill
Filter
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 773 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Let's get this out of the way now... growing up in Maryland, I'm not a Duke fan. But that in no way biases my feeling that as hard as they try to be an upscale, exclusive Southern hotel, the Washington Duke Inn fails to deliver on the lofty standards they seemingly try to pursue.

The King golf view room was okay... no problems with the décor or cleanliness... although on the last night, housekeeping inadvertently left a torn, stained wet towel on the bed's end table. Also the sheets were a little stiff and the bedspread had a few little particles stuck to it. But nothing obnoxiously wrong with the room. The bathroom was nice and the TV had good clarity.

A side note is that the hotel has a joke of a gift shop. It's about 200 sq ft and offers nothing but a few snacks and candies and some shirts. No water or any other necessities - - guess they want you to pay $7 for one bottle of Fiji water. Couldn't figure out why anyone would need to buy anything with the limited selection of merchandise available for sale.

The breakfast buffet was a necessity because there are not breakfast restaurants close by. For the 2 of us (my son and I), we spent $30 each morning. Although not bad, it's no better than those free continental breakfasts you get at any traveling stopover chain hotel. Didn't have lunch or dinner in any of their restaurants because the selection of dishes was all gourmet - - not that we are common people, but the only option for adults looking for some basic good food is to pretend to be 10 or under - - that's the only way you can order from the children's menu.

The location of the hotel is what stands out. It's right next to the Duke campus and has a great jogging trail through the woods encircling the hotel and golf course - - which was closed for renovation by the way.

On the whole... the hotel is a solid "good" that gets moved down a notch to a solid "average" when you take into account the hotel's expense. It's definitely not an exclusive resort like The Breakers or similar Southern establishments.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Bob_Terp_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at the Washingon Duke Inn on my recent visit to Duke Medical Center. The accommodations were excellent and actually pulled off the rare combination of an "old school feel" with "new school conveniences & amenities". Most that achieve one, lack the other, but not here. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous, coming close to the feel of the service one recieves at a Ritz-Carlton or St. Regis. The Inn's bar (The Bull Durham Bar) had a great feel and nice charm to it, along with a decent wine list and above-average food. It is located directly on the golf course, but since I was here for medical issues at the Duke Medical Center, I was not able to play and thus can't comment on that part. The "normal" rates are pricey, but in line with the level of accommodations. However, they have several discount packages associated with Duke University, so definitely see if you qualify. My treatment at Duke Medical qualified me for a rate of around $120/night for a room that is normally closer to $300/night. Highly recommend, especially if you are connected to the university in uch a way as to qualify for the discounted rates.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank TuscaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Every employee was accommodating, competent, professional, welcoming and friendly. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the public areas filled with the rich history of the Duke family. The grounds were wonderful for walking, and the food exceptional. I can't say enough. I was in Durham for business, and will return to this hotel for all future trips.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

From the competent staff to the always available doormen to the well prepared food to the renovated rooms, the Washington Duke remains our favorite place to stay in Durham, NC.

Since we were in town for "an event", we appreciated the extra space, the iron and ironing board and the comfortable chairs in our room. The bed was exceedingly comfortable which helped garner the sleep needed after a night of dancing.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank HikingLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've been staying at the WDI for 20 years and it is always a first-class experience. From check-in, to room service, to housekeeping, to bar and restaurant, the service is attentive and excellent. I've attended numerous conferences and major dinner events and they always do an excellent job catering to the needs of the hosts and the guests. The golf course is outstanding and the 3 mile cross-country path around the course is a great run through the Duke forest. Like all major hotels they charge for in-room use of internet or wifi access, a practice I find endlessly annoying, but they have a very nice business center. The Bull Durham Bar is a great hangout with a good selection of beer on tap and excellent burgers. The Fairview Restaurant is beautiful and the food is delicious -- try Sunday brunch too. If you're traveling to the Triangle area the Washington-Duke Inn is an outstanding choice without a close second.

Room Tip: Request a golf course view. If you have kids they have at least one suite with bunk beds. Noise is never a problem in the hotel -- the party/convention areas are well removed from the guest bedrooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEF303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews