We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deluxe experience in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Melville
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Deluxe experience in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Duke Washington compares most favorably to the $700 and up per night Grand Hotels of Europe or the Palace Hotel in Manhattan, at a reasonable rate (except on event weekends). The usual $315/night rooms are spacious with elegant decor. The service is warm and friendly, not at all stuffy. And discouted rates on off weeks are available as low as $115/night, a true bargain when you consider average hotels in the area are in the $100 range. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place. Even overlooking the driving range is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smcmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    131
    44
    15
    12
See reviews for
238
120
39
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We arrived for a quick one night trip to viisit Duke and UNC Chapel Hill.

The hotel was excellent and it seems like it is likely the best hotel in the area. Check in and check out were quick and everyone working there really was top notch. The hotel and grounds are very well kept.

It is not a true 5 star resort since the staff was not :"falling over themselves" to do things for you like at a Four Seasons for example and there were no over the top amenities, but everyone was efficient and professional and the hotel looks great and the service is excellent. The dining options are also very good and fairly priced for what is offered. I would definitely stay here again if I return to the area. I would look forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayorMcCheesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Beautiful grounds, large room, friendly people. A lovely getaway spot. We came for a wedding and everything was top-drawer. Walk to Duke, drive over to Chapel Hill. Sarah Duke Gardens are lovely. Concierge really knows her stuff. We'd come back in a flash.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had the chance to enjoy Washington Duke Inn for a week and it was a great experience. The landscape, the quality of the hotel, the amenities, the outstanding client service provided by the staff were impressive.
I would definitely like to go back and enjoy such a wonderful stay with family and friends, not only for business purposes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SinziMaioreanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Visited for a wedding last weekend. Wedding was beautiful. Food was great. Cake tasted incredible, best that I have ever tasted at a wedding. Loved the southern fusion flair - appetizer was shrimp and grits. Room was spacious, beds were very comfortable, service was GREAT - my fiance got his shoes shined, his shirt ironed, and shaving cream that he forgot so he could be spiffy for the wedding :). We walked around the wonderful trail behind the hotel, had a lovely drink at the bar - beautiful landscaping. The lobby was especially luxurious looking.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Swimstar200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three days/two nights for a quick golf get-away. This hotel definitely lives up to it's 4/5 star rating. The wonderful impression starts at the entrance to the hotel, which is beautiful and has lovely landscaping, continues to the welcome by the bell staff and then the front desk. Every part of this hotel is done with good taste and refinement. The common areas, the golf locker rooms, the golf pro shop, the restaurants, the patio dining and the beautifully appointed rooms (they are completely updated, as are the bathrooms)...it is truly a wonderful place to visit. The food is delicious, whether it is from the lounge, room service, or the main dining room. We have stayed an many luxury hotels, and this one certainly did not disappoint. Every employee made us feel welcome. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course have a really pretty landscape to look at from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovestotravel5272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This elegant hotel, golf club and dining room is the place to be for all varieties of Duke-related activities. We've stayed there numerous times for campus visits for college-hunting, move-in, parent weekend, Alumni events, and school-year visits. The staff is courteous and welcoming, and the plush furnishings and decor give the whole place an elegant ambiance. Rooms and suites there are lovely and welcoming, as is the dining experience in the dining room, the bar area (especially in the library room off the bar), and the seating area outside that overlooks the golf course. You'll see alumni, student groups celebrating special occasions, family groups touring the campus, and local area residents and businesses using the meeting room and conference areas. The business center is top notch. They do an awesome job during move-in days assisting with directions and handouts and having grab and go coffee and info stations. The food in the dining room and bar has always been good, the breakfast buffet is lovely, and overall the service has been very good. If you can afford it, it's the first choice of places to stay near campus!

Room Tip: You can ask for a golf course view room if available. Front view looks out over the drop off circle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#10 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.3 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
2.4 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Property: Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing