We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely at Christmas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cary NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely at Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband's company held their Christmas party here and obtained reduced rates for overnight stays. Took advantage of the special pricing as the regular rates are pricey. Food, service and amenities were are first rate. Exercise equipment in the fitness room was very up to date. Brunch at the Fairview Restaurant was superb although expensive. This is a special occassion destination.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    124
    41
    14
    12
See reviews for
224
108
39
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our trip to Duke Washington Inn was initiated by a golf tour my son was a part of called FCWT, Future Collegiate World Tour that includes playing at college golf courses. From the valet service offered by the hotel we knew to expect a fabulous and attentive staff.
This hotel is surrounded by the golf course and breathtaking mature landscaping. The tunnel of towering trees upon entry was like rolling out the green canopy. The hotel is continuous with Duke University. The friendly and attentive greetings and service that you receive as you enter this well appointed southern luxury hotel created a nonverbal kudos in our making the best hotel choice! Thanks to the FCWT for recommending it. The shuttle service to the University attractions and to restaurants was complimentary. You really didn't need to leave the hotel since all three restaurants were great in different ways depending upon what you wanted. Breakfast buffet each morning was perfect in every way with options and always a big southern drawl greeting. The Fairview restaurant by far was absolutely perfect from the wait service to the seasonal gourmet food including the melt in your mouth desserts. The pianist was a delightful talented gal that added a festive yet subdued atmosphere. You couldn't have asked for more at the Fairview. We also experienced the Bull Durham pub for a lively happy hour with mouthwatering burgers.
The work out room satisfied all of our needs and expectations.
The golf course and the staff were fabulous and as all the guests commented, the greens and property were in tip top shape. This was much appreciated by all the serious golfers. The Vista outside restaurant served well for a quick bite to eat.
Walking the golf course while watching the tournament was an unbelievable nature treat. An identical response was elicited while walking the several paths connecting the hotel to the university on our way to see the beautiful Duke campus and purchase a few items from one of his favorite colleges.
We didn't make use of the business room or the reading rooms since internet was in our room, but they were welcome amenities.
My son and I had a truly memorable, elegant, yet not stuffy bonding time in this remarkable southern hotel with true southern hospitality.
If ever in the area this would be our choice of hotel again. We plan to return with the FCWT golf tour next November with additional family for a possible reunion, besides he is already growing out of his Duke sweatshirt. We hope to see all the same staff. Kudos!!

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful and all encompassing and the standard rooms are quiet with beautiful views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfArete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We came to Duke for some medical stuff - stayed at the Duke Inn. They have special rooms called family suites - they have a long narrow corridor with a children's area at the other end. Bunk beds , little tv, and little chairs. If you're coming to Durham with little kids I'd take this room if you can get it

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jseber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my first time at the Inn but I hope it will not be the last. We had impeccable and attentive service from the moment we approached the doors to our exit two days later. Our suite was meticulously maintained and very well-appointed. I thought the pillows were a little floppy - I like a more firm pillow but I am sure they would have found me one if I asked. Room service was delivered in 10 minutes (!), the shower and coffee amenities were top-notch and the business center was large and comfortable. We were in town to attend a Duke basketball game but looked forward to hanging around the hotel the second night of our stay. The Inn is very pricy but, in this case, the price suited the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just a beautiful property with great service and amenities. Spa, food, golf, and luxury...all you would ever want. We found check in to be effortless, the valet service is impeccable and from there you are in a beautiful room, well appointed and immaculate. The food is contemporary southern with attention to quality and a very adequate wine/beer/cocktail selection. Room service is elegant and prompt. Really, a delightful hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf course and avoid the parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I am very surprised at myself for never having stayed here before, so faced with wanting to make New Years Eve 2012/13 something a bit special with a one-night quick getaway, this fit the bill perfectly!

TIP: This is not an inexpensive place to stay...but deals can be had at certain times if you do some internet searching and land in the right place. Note, you won't find it on a bidding site, and since I'm a bidding type of gal, I will use that as my excuse for not having stayed here before.

That being said, how cool that we could catch a last minute deal and stay at this elegant, yet not-stuffy hotel on New Years' Eve? We hit the road on New Years Eve after I worked all day. Thankfully it was a short drive and we found this charming place with no problem, hidden away on the Duke Campus. Parking is free, and the welcoming smiles are immediate. We requested a king room and were told that we only had two king options...a room with a view of the top of the restaurant or a handicapped-accessible room. Not wanting to take up the latter should it be needed, we opted for the first. Seriously, who sits in their room and gazes out non-stop anyway???

Our room was perfectly nice, with indeed, a view of a gravel-topped roof. We could see enough in the distance to know that others probably did have a very nice view. One short glance of "oh well" and we were on to exploring and enjoying our evening, which included a wonderful dinner in the Bull Durham Bar. Service was perfect, and food was very nice.

We then explored the hotel, and I loved seeing some of the pics, plus the clothes that are displayed. Christmas decorations were very nice also. We certainly didn't fit in with all the long sparkly dresses and tuxes, but we didn't try to enter their world, and we weren't made to feel out of place. Especially not by the warm and friendly staff we encountered everywhere.

After a restful and comfortable night (which was surprisingly quiet for New Years Eve!), we enjoyed a very nice buffet breakfast, and a friendly check-out.

If you're looking for super Duke rich elegance you will find it here. If you are like us and just looking for Southern comfortable hospitality, I am happy to report you will find it as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed one night a week before Xmas and couldn't recommend it any more highly. True 5 star experience. Great service, immaculate rooms and facilities and fantastically decorated for Xmas. Went to college basketball game and position to university couldn't be better. Highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John19661966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
1.6 mi away
Brookwood Inn Durham
Brookwood Inn Durham
#33 of 72 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
2.9 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#19 of 72 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.4 mi away
Millennium Hotel Durham
Millennium Hotel Durham
#35 of 72 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Property: Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd, Durham, NC 27705-1059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing