We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - ok staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed recently at the WaDuke, as it is known by the locals. Hotel and grounds are very nice, especially by Raleigh-Durham standards. Location is perfect if you are visiting the Duke campus.

The staff is another matter. I am not the demanding type when it comes to staff, but this is clearly the weak link in the chain. The staff here was not terrible or rude, but certainly not worthy of this hotel. I definitely would recommend the hotel, but cannot give it a 5* rating because of this one issue.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twhite4809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 739 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Full disclosure - I am a Cameron Crazy/Duke alum. It was great coming back after many years away, and the Washington Duke made our stay even better. We watched the sunset on the back porch overlooking the golf course. The interior restaurant and bar is warm and cozy, and the service is impeccable. The beds were fantastic - you can't find a more comfortable room anywhere east of the Bellagio. Although the price per night is probably the highest in North Carolina, I can honestly say that it was totally worthwhile. This was the highlight of our long college trip without a doubt. Now we're hoping our son is accepted, and we'll be staying here for visits!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a golf course view instead of a parking lot view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamiltonc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed five nights. The hotel is a large establisment in an even larger grounds which include expansive golf courses and an adjoining "forest". The atmosphere is reminiscent of an Old Boys' club, with the comfortable arm chairs throughout the elegant lobby and the walls adorned with portraits of distinguished alumni and family members of the Duke family.
The room was large and very well appointed. The bathroom had marble finishings and good quality toiletries. Mini bar, room safe, ironing board, flat screen TV and complimentary coffee and tea were included. Every floor has a handy ice machine. The queen bed was firm and I slept extremely well. Free wifi was also very welcome.
I dined twice at the restaurant. Both the service and the food/wine list were excellent and the prices fair. I also tried the breakfast where there is an extensive breakfast buffet although one can also choose from the a la carte menu.
What I loved most about this property is the grounds. Besides golf, there was nothing I found more invigorating than to take an early morning walk along the footpaths on the extensive grounds, I even saw deer darting about in the forest! There is also a good gym on site which opens as early as 430am! There is also an adjoining indoor pool and jacuzzi which i did not use.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was one of the highlights of our trip, we stumbled upon Durham from a waiter we talked to in Wilmington and we were so pleased to get there and relax for a few days.
Golf course is A+, GPS on the carts was fantastic! Staff in pro shop very friendly, we bought new golf shoes and upon return to NZ we have been raving about the DUKE- the whole complex was very good.

Room Tip: Dont get the suite that overlooks the Bull Durham bar outside area, its noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, location, ambience, food and friendly staff. Disappointed that they've relaxed the dress code in their elegant dining room. Shorts and flip flops shouldn't be allowed, as well as small children who would probably rather be at Chucky Cheese, anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BLBNewBern_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place is remarkable. Upscale with impeccable service, from the doorman to the wait staff. We were here for a Duke football camp in June and returned for a game and the bellhop, Jun, remembered our names. We were treated so well, we did not want to leave. We have stayed in suites costing over $4,000 per night, but prefer this quiet little place. The only criticism I have is that the jacuzzi didn't work this time which was disappointing to my husband and kids. The breakfast is awesome as are the food and drinks in the Bull Durham Bar.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Some minor issues like poor shower pressure but an enjoyable experience in a spectacular setting.What was particularly awesome were the front desk staff and the front door/ reception team..always willing to go out of their way and most helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UGReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#20 of 71 in Durham
321 reviews
1.3 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#4 of 71 in Durham
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
JB Duke Hotel
JB Duke Hotel
#27 of 71 in Durham
55 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd, Durham, NC 27705-1059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $187 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing