We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Stay to Attend a Duke Function” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay to Attend a Duke Function”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place is remarkable. Upscale with impeccable service, from the doorman to the wait staff. We were here for a Duke football camp in June and returned for a game and the bellhop, Jun, remembered our names. We were treated so well, we did not want to leave. We have stayed in suites costing over $4,000 per night, but prefer this quiet little place. The only criticism I have is that the jacuzzi didn't work this time which was disappointing to my husband and kids. The breakfast is awesome as are the food and drinks in the Bull Durham Bar.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    122
    41
    14
    12
See reviews for
219
105
38
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uganda
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Some minor issues like poor shower pressure but an enjoyable experience in a spectacular setting.What was particularly awesome were the front desk staff and the front door/ reception team..always willing to go out of their way and most helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UGReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here when dropping off our son at Duke. The advance reviews were superb, and we were not disappointed. The service was outstanding, the facilities superb, and the setting was beautiful (and a short walk to west campus). The only negative was the free wifi, which was iffy on the first day and failed completely on the second day. Otherwise, our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbsand81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Beautiful, large charming hotel. Rooms lovely and staff at hotel lovely pleasant Two restaurants Both very good. One restaurant more formal and in a gorgeous room Location close to Duke. Hotel will also shuttle you to school. We were sad to leave! Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had another fabulous stay at the Washington Duke Inn... I would highly recommend. Take a late night dip in the pool after dinner - it is an indoor pool with a hot tub in it - nice to take a swim and then just ease the muscles in the hot tub. But watch out... the walking path is 3 miles long. But the chaise lounges by the pool overlook the golf course and the view is awesome. The food is delicious - and Diego, our waiter was wonderful. I would also highly recommend their Executive Club if you live in the area - it is an awesome deal. Our room was very comfortable - lots of pillows and comfort. The bathroom only had a shower but it was very spacious and very nicely tiled. And the coffee is available at 5am!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caribears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston VA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

lovely stay while being seen at the Duke Clnic, nice rooms, lovely breakfast, traditional furniture, lovely patios, attentive staff, fast-free- internet everywhere, not even a password required. Such a difference from some fancy European hotels where to our surprise a 3 Euro per hour internet use is most common. This is the best place in Durham and though we had always stayed at the H....n Hotel this one is FAR superior If you are comnig to be seen at the Duke Clinic or Hospital ask for the special rate that applies to patients and make your appointment through MEDSTAY 877.633.7829

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Argentinaexpert23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Washington Duke for two nights the end of July. I found an excellent rate on the internet, and having stayed here before years ago, I was happy to book here again. The hotel staff was very friendly, and both the public areas and rooms were very clean. While the decor doesn't seem to have changed much in the 20 years since I was here last, nothing appeared to be worn or dirty. The bathroom was very nice, and had been re-done by taking out the tub and installing a large glassed-in shower. The bed was very comfortable, and the rooms were very quiet. We were on the top floor, and had a nice view of the putting green. The food in the restaurant was very good, and the bar was hopping as they had the Olympics on the big screen TV. We didn't have the opportunity to play golf, but the course appeared to be in good shape. We didn't bring our computers so I can't say how the internet worked, but we were told it was complimentary. I would definitely try to stay here again should I need a hotel in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasJEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brookwood Inn Durham
Brookwood Inn Durham
#24 of 72 in Durham
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
2.5 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Property: Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd, Durham, NC 27705-1059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing