We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Of All!!”
Review of The University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The University Inn
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed March 17, 2009

The staff was wonderful & very understanding, especially the General Manager. We did not know if we would need another day until we met with the doctors at Duke. He gave us until 3 to have our bags out of the room or book another day (which was well past the check out time). It is a very simple place to stay, but it is very clean and comfortable. The rooms are enormous which is a VERY big plus. When you are already stressed, the last thing you need is to be cramped up on top of each other. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place. Would recommend over & over. My family has stayed here several times over the last 13 years & have ALWAYS had the same type of experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countrygurl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in September. Its location to the Duke hospitals can not be beat. The rooms were clean and comfortable. This hotel was basic but served its purpose. The place was much nicer than some other hotels I have stayed in Durham. Bonus: the room has a little mini-fridge which was great for keeping beverages.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Zelphiakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

If you stay here, be advised that the staff is very rude and could care less about satisfying you. My room smelled like URINE and they did nothing except rudeley tell me that I can go next door to another hotel. The manager was not available to manage his RUDE staff. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL. It was a nightmare and I will NEVER stay here again.

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank terryba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

My husband was sent to Duke Medical Center for some tests and we chose the University Inn for its location and because I had read the reviews on trip advisor. It is located one block from the main entrance to the hospital.

We were pleasantly surprised with our room. Since the rates were extremely reasonable, we did not expect to get a hugh room with two double beds, a microwave, a small refrigerator, a nice overstuffed chair, a couch, a small dining table with two chairs, and cable television. WOW!

Since we had never been to Duke, we did not know where the clinic we needed was located. That was not a problem since the University Inn supplies its guest with shuttle service. All we had to do was tell the driver where we needed to go and we were taken to the front door. When we were finished, we called the hotel and the shuttle was sent back to get us. That is what I call great service!

On the last day of our visit to Duke, we had to be checked out of the hotel by 12:00 PM. My husband had one more test to be done at the Medical Center and I asked if I could leave my car at the hotel and I would be glad to pay the $1.00 per hour that they charge to park in the parking garage of the hospital. I was told to leave my car there but they refused to charge me. That is not all! They let us use their shuttle to the hospital and also sent the shuttle back to get me when my husband was released at 5:30 PM. They did not have to do that for us. We were no longer guests of the hotel. I feel that they went beyond what most, if not all, hotels would have done. I will definitely tell everyone to stay at the University Inn if they are sent to Duke Medical Center for tests or as an outpatient.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiMi219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

My family and I stayed at the University Inn at Duke for one night while attending a reunion at Duke. I booked the hotel because I liked its close proximity to the campus and encouraged my friends to book there as well, but I was nervous that its low price would signify low quality. I was very pleasantly surprised.

While not luxurious by any means, the room was oversized with two full beds, a couch and recliner, and a fridge with microwave. Some hotel chains would call this a suite. The room was well maintained and clean. The beds were comfortable. The complimentary continental breakfast was basic but satisfying. The staff was very accomodating. All in all, for under $70, it was probably the best hotel stay I could have imagined. I will definitely stay there again when visiting Duke.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KP_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2004

During the 9 days that my sister was a critical care patient at Duke Medical, my husband and I stayed at the University Inn. I felt safe walking to and from the hospital by myself at all hours because the Inn is only one block away. I didn't have to drive or pay for parking, which is a problem near the hospital. The staff was very attentive to our needs and showed genuine concern for our situation. I highly recommend the University Inn if Duke Medical Center is the focus of your Durham stay. The facility does have some age, I would not choose it for a vacation, but for conveniece and affordability for extended stays in connection with Duke Medical Center, it is quite sufficient.

  • Stayed: July 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Butterfly28613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2003

On October 31, 2003 I stayed at the University Inn in Durham, NC. It looked like such a common man hotel on the exterior, I was shocked to find it so distinctively furnished and inviting.

The staff are extremely pleasant. The rooms are big and beautifully furnished. In the King Size non-smoking room, the sink is separate from the shower/commode area. The bed is extremely comfortable. The room surprised me with a mini-fridge, clock radio, AND microwave.

Best of all, continental breakfast was available with plenty of fruit, cereal, donuts, juice, milk, etc.

The hotel is $150/night quality, however it averages around $65/per night.

30  Thank m0nec1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.0 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.6 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The University Inn

Address: 502 Elf St, Durham, NC 27705-3950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $87 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn at Duke is across the street from Duke University Medical Center Hospital and the Durham Regional Veterans Administration Hospital. We are walking distance to the Duke Medical Pavilion, Duke Cancer Center, Duke Ambulatory Center, Duke Eye Clinic, Duke University, Duke University Medical School, Cameron Indoor Stadium, Duke Gardens, Duke Chapel, Duke East Campus and Duke West Campuses. All of our rooms are extra large and include a microwave, refrigerator, and free WIFI. We have a complimentary Shuttle bus for the Duke campus and medical center that runs Monday thru Friday 7am to 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Inn At Duke Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing