We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Our room was clean, plenty of room. The staff from the front desk, to every house keeper made us feel very welcome. Our semi broke down and we had to be in the area until it was repaired. If we are in this area again, and need to stay in a Hotel again we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Bill, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay whiloe at the Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill. Our staff takes pride in making each guest feel comfortable while traveling. I will share your comments with the staff and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent service and terrific room for the money. Our room was very clean and even though we were near the Interstate, we could not hear any of the vehicle noise. Outstanding customer service. We liked it so well we stayed on a Thursday night and the following Tuesday after taking a short trip in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 525Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you Diane for your kind words. Here at The Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill we love to provide great customer service with a clean, comfortable place for you to stay at a great price! Our staff looks forward to providing the same great service next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

There has been a lot of hype about Red Roof Inns recently... radio spots and good branding ads. And the hype is real. i have a new favorite now. The Price is right and the rooms are fresh and new AND SO ARE THE BEDS YAY!! A fresh, clean, and sophisticated look. Congrats Red Roof Inn. The rooms are comfy, the beds are firm but comfy. There is a work station and a microwave and fridge. The t.v. is a nice new flat screen. I learned later in the trip that if you want in room coffee, you need a Superior room, which we reserved at other locations during our trip. I will say that at first I was a bit put off by the lack of free breakfast (or any breakfast for that matter) but I got out of that "come along" freeby quickly. Really, who wants to fight over a waffle iron with unkempt shoeless folks anyway : )

Oh and I would be remiss if I didn't mention the service. It was excellent! Smiles and friendly people, the way it should be.

Room Tip: reserve a Superior King. It's nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkansasfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your recent stay at The Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill. We are proud of our recently renovated rooms and the comfort they provide for our guests. I will share your comments with the hotel staff, and we look forward to serving you the next time you are in the Chapel Hill area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Red Roof's "best"--a superior king--is large, impressive and at a budget price. Beside the usual motel furnishings, there is a modern work desk and lamp, comfortable lounge chair, extra electrical outlets on the front of the bedside stand, an extra large flat-screen TV and very comfortable bed. The first thing that struck us upon entering was the wood-like laminate flooring (unusual in our motel experience) with carpeting only under and around the bed, extending about two feet beyond.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive experience here at our property. We have under gone renovations which are complete at this time. All rooms come standard with free Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions, free local and long distance phone calls. Our superior king rooms do come with a microwave and refrigerator, iron and iron boards, hair dryers, and coffee maker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Room had not been cleaned well and there was trash underneath the bed. Many of the patrons were loud and could be heard on the balcony the ought the night. There was a lack of power outlets to charge cell phones and other electronics. The room was not ready when we arrived and had to wait a while before we were given another room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you Michael for telling us about your stay here at The Red Rood Inn. I apologioze your stay was not a satisfactory one. At The Red Roof Inn we want each guest to feel comfortable, enjoy a clean room, and superior service. We have addressed the issues you encountered while here and hope to see you the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I cant believe how the redroof changed look great and refreshing feeling. What a locationyou have walmart shoppingnot even 5 min away at a grest cost! Im new too the area i found it helpful.alsoi must say there was a wonderful young woman name Ashley who gave me some helpful tips on chapelhill i thank her..... she was great!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rellyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic M, Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank You for your wonderful comments! Our goal here is to make sure each guest has the same experience you did. I will share your comments with out staff and look forward to seeing you the next time your in Chapel Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the typical Red Roof experience. Clean, well-located, everything was as expected. No frills, but no deficiencies either. We stayed here to visit Duke University and it was a good choice. We were on campus in 10-15 minutes, driving from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank You Ellie for sharing your positive experience while staying at our property. It is always a pleasure to hear our guest share how much they enjoy staying at our hotel. I will share your comments with our staff and look forward to seeing you the next time your in Chapel Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#15 of 18 in Chapel Hill
247 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Triangle Park
6.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham
6.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill

Address: 5623 Durham Chapel Hill Blvd, I-40 at US 15/501, Exit #270, Durham, NC 27707-3320
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $49 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Durham
Red Roof Inn Durham
Durham Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing