We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
Ranked #55 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Hotel”
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Visited for two nights for a residency interview at Duke. Desk staff unfriendly and unhelpful. Check into my nonsmoking room and it reeked of smoke. Complained and they refused to help as 'that's the way the hotel smells.' The cigarette smell was so strong it became apart of my clothes including my suite to interview in.

Cable and free wifi went in and out despite calm weather outside.

Do not rely on the free shuttle service to hospital as the displayed times change without notice and the desk staff does a poor job in relaying messages to the driver for pickups at Duke.

Only up side of this hotel is the price but for all the problems I wish I would have paid $20 more and stayed somewhere else.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank chite85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham112008, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
Dear Chite85,

I'm concerned about the various problems you recently experienced at the hotel,
and I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and the principal goal of our hotel
is to provide dependable service to each at a reasonable price. Consequently,
it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

A hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests, and I want you to know that the concerns of our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

However, in order for me to resolve the issues you raise, I need additional information. Please contact me by e-mail or telephone with the name on the reservation, arrival date of your reservation, a confirmation number (if you can provide one) and any other facts you consider pertinent.

Once again, please accept my apology for any inconvenience. I look forward to discussing this matter with you upon receipt of the information I've requested.

Sincerely,
Simran Ahluwalia
Ph: 919-382-3388
E-mail: simran@duke85.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    74
    105
    64
    54
See reviews for
135
56
42
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Got to the hotel around 1:oo a.m. after a short flight from Nashville. We couldn't get into the lobby to register so we had to use the night entrance to get our room cards. Overall the hotel is not far from Duke University and is adjacent to a Crackerbarrel Restaurant. We discovered that the cold water didn't work in our room and reported it to the front desk on Saturday morning. Within a few minutes, a maintenance person was working on the problem. Our only real contact with staff and management was pretty good and we were satisfied with our stay. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. Our room, 228, was in the corner of the building and didn't offer any scenery but it did make the room extra quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Duke V/s Alabama was a great game this season! We hope you get to make it out to next season's game should it be home for Duke. We have recently renovated and have been seeing many basketball fans this year. Such a treat for us to host the fans of our opposing teams!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This inn has two floors of outside entry rooms and one floor of rooms that are accessed from an inside hall. Our room was clean, had two nice office type chairs. There was also a lap tray so a person could work from the bed. The breakfast included eggs and sausage along with the usual bread, cereal, waffles. We enjoyed the pool at the end of a hot day of travel. The only problem was the key cards would not open the entry door nearest our room.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank villemomoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for visiting us in 2010. Our goal is to make 2014 the best year ever! If you head our way anytime this year, be sure to look us up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spartanburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2010

The public areas of the hotel are very tired, but decent breakfast and clean room. Only problem were small ants in my room--that smelled like pesticide when I killed them.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank historianspartanburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
I'm sorry you had trouble with ants when you stayed with us, but I'm glad you had a nice stay overall. We have newly renovated our building and are always looking to make improvements to offer the best service in the market. We hope you get the chance to check out our renovations soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We came here because my husband had surgery at Duke. There is a shuttle from the hotel to Duke for free. Hotel was very accomodating, helpful and friendly. I was able to have an important document faxed for free and used the computer and printer for free. Hotel is right next to a Cracker Barrel which was delicious. For the price it was worth it because we had to be here for 2 weeks. We would come back here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We have recently renovated our hotel and added some really nice features (such as a 32" LCD television). Come check us out soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stayed in this hotel during our visit to Duke Medical Center. The rates were very reasonable compare to other hotels in the area. Check-in was very quick and easy. Also, we were welcomed with drinks and snacks from the manager - we checked-in during their manager's reception. The room was comfortable and very clean. It was also easier access to the room - they were able to get us first floor as we requested. Their breakfast was very good..more items than regular continetal breakfast. The best part was their complimentary shuttle to the hospital - which we were able to use to go to Duke Hospital next day morning. Overall, our stay was great and we will stay there whenever we visit Durham again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello, it's been a long time since you left your review for us. We are offering the manager's receptions again on Tuesday and Thursday evenings. It is a great way to leave a lasting impact on our guests. I do hope you stop in again and check out our renovations. We would love to hear from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

large stains on sheets, no hot water in showers (other guests were heard to complain about this in the lobby), run down building, rude staff (I made complaint on check out, no apology at all - only acknowledged my compaints with a grunt).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbpahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Ouch. I am so sorry that your experience was so negative. We have made great strides to improve our facility and customer service. If you come to Durham again anytime soon, please contact our hotel and ask for the Manager's Special. We would love the opportunity to give you a better impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#44 of 71 in Durham
62 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
0.1 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
Address: 3710 Hillsborough Rd, Durham, NC 27705-2906 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-85 and within minutes of Duke University and Duke Hospital. All of our rooms & Suites include a 32" Flat Screen, Luxury Vanities, Refrigerator, Microwave, and more.Come an enjoy a relaxing swim in our newly reconstructed pool! We also offer a complimentary expanded continental breakfast with hot items in the mornings, business center and 24 hour access to fitness room. Whether you are planning to visit for business or leisure, you will enjoy our signature service and the upscale amenities we have to offer. At Quality Inn & Suites,Durham we always strive to reinvigorate the hotel experience and provide our guests with a home away from home atmosphere, with spacious comfortable suites, featuring all the extras that make a difference when traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Durham
Quality Inn Durham
Durham Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing